sneaker∙therapy

I talk to God on the road. And He talks back.

Friday Week of Eats

5 Comments

week of eats

I did a lot of cooking this week! I have some great recipes to share with you guys :) Let’s get to it.

Breakfast

My love for oatmeal remains unabated, but I decided to try baked oatmeal, in the style of Kath’s Baked Banana Oatmeal.  The only changes I made to her recipe were: (1) I added a container of blueberries and a quarter cup of dried coconut flakes, and (2) I omitted the sugar topping, since the fruit added a lot of natural sweetness.

baked oatmeal collage

This was a great, easy recipe! One pie pan made for four huge servings of 250 Calories each.

Lunch

I made two dishes for lunch this week.  The first was a salad creation of mixed greens topped with roasted butternut squash, the last of my goat cheese, sliced apple, and this wonderful thing:

aidell sausage

I absolutely love Aidell’s chicken sausages, and when I saw it on sale at Harris Teeter, I couldn’t resist! I wish I had bought more packages, because this one was gone so quickly.  *sniff sniff*

sausage salad

After a few days, all my salad ingredients were gone, so I got busy roasted veggies to make Roasted Buddha Bowls for lunch.  The butternut squash below went into the salads above, and the chickpeas, broccoli and cauliflower were for the Buddha Bowls.

053 052

I did my own thing with the dressing, because I was in the mood for a spicy peanut sauce. Unfortunately, I made up the dressing as I went along, so I don’t have a recipe this time! I’ll measure the ingredients out next time, because this was a seriously good dressing/ sauce. I used everything below:

dressing ingredients
Crunchy peanut butter, soy sauce, coconut oil, rice vinegar, honey, red pepper flakes, and ground ginger.

I ate the roasted veggies with quinoa and mixed everything up with the sauce.  I could eat this every day for a month.

roasted buddha bowl 007

Can I point out my impressive/ excessive use of tupperware this week? As I made each dish, I packed it all up in single servings, which made packing lunch the night before VERY easy.  I own a very impressive collection of various Glad/ Ziploc plastic containers.  It’s an investment.
tupperware obsession

Dinner

I had my new favorite smoothie a few times this week: Double Chocolate Smoothie, Mm!

chocolate shake 3

And I made Anne’s Mexican Lasagna, which we both LOVED.  This is definitely staying in the meal rotation.  A few twists of my own: I used Frozen Carnitas, which Mike picked up from Costco the other day – it is pretty delicious and definitely added to the flavor of the dish.  I also sauteed the pepper and added an onion and a tomato before layering it in.  We chose to omit the olives and cilantro (I’m not a cilantro lover), and reduced the cheese, because we only had half a cup or so.  It still had TONS of flavor from all the other elements of the dish!

ingredients mexican lasagna mexican lasagna

If you don’t know what to make for dinner this week, I highly recommend this dish!

Snacks

I’ve been working on finishing my latest batch of granola, so work snacks this week were hard boiled eggs and granola with yogurt.

075

I also got a case of mini Larabars from drugstore.com – they make a great snack before or after a workout!

007 (2)
003

I also made an especially tasty batch of Chocolate Chia Pudding with the last of my coconut milk, some almond milk, cocoa powder, vanilla extract, and maple syrup for sweetener. I used a jar to make the pudding this time, and found it easier to shake vigorously to mix it all up, rather than stirring it. So this was shaken, not stirred =P

001 (2) 002 (2)

Have a great weekend guys! We’ll be driving nearly all day Saturday to go to and come back from NYC for Mike’s niece’s 100 day celebration – it’s a Korean big event, like a 1st birthday party – so I’m off to find some audiobooks to keep us entertained in the car.

How do you survive long car rides? Audiobooks and naps.  Occasionally we’ll play car games like Contact if we have a bunch of people in the car.

What’s your favorite thing (food or non-food) to buy at Costco? If we’re entertaining, we get steaks at Costco! I also love their soups and packs of Adidas socks.

Author: Dawn H.

I'm Dawn. I went from couch to marathon in 2012, and it hurt so good that I ran 10 more races (including 3 halfs) in 2013 and am currently training for marathon #2! Sneaker Therapy chronicles my adventures as a newbie runner and blogger in DC. I hope to amuse and inspire others on their own fitness quests!

5 thoughts on “Friday Week of Eats

  1. everything looks so delicious!

  2. Pingback: A Restful Weekend | sneaker∙therapy

  3. Pingback: A Week of Eats | sneaker∙therapy

  4. Pingback: I’m Running The Peace Marathon | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers