sneaker∙therapy

I talk to God on the road. And He talks back.

Whole30 Week 2 Prep + Cooking

3 Comments

The Meal Plan

I’m continuing to rely heavily on blogs like NomNomPaleo and PaleOMG for great meals that help me not to miss all the stuff I can’t eat.  In addition, I have some challenges to prepare for this week – I’ll talk about them below!

Breakfast – Mike made me a huge frittata with chicken and apple sausage, broccoli, leeks, and mushrooms.  So. Good.

Lunch – I was inspired by Allison’s old post on Zucchini Noodles, so I’m going to give them a shot! I’ll add some ground meat to add some protein to this veggie-packed dish.

Dinner – Keeping dinner easy with Slow Cooker Roast Chicken and Gravy.  I made this already, and this is the best darn gravy I’ve ever had.  Roasted kabocha squash or asparagus on the side.

Snacks – I ate my last Larabar today! Instead of trekking to Whole Foods to buy some more, I’m going to try making homemade gingerbread Larabars.  Other snacks: strawberries, applesauce, nuts+dried fruit.

Hunting and Gathering

I did all my food shopping at Harris Teeter – no specialty items needed from Whole Foods this week.  Here’s what I bought to make this week’s meals:

Meats: a whole chicken, ground beef+pork, Aidell’s Chicken and Apple Sausage, hot dogs (no sugar), canned tuna, can of sardines, proscuitto, eggs

IMG_2544

Veggies: broccoli, asparagus, bell peppers, zucchini, cherry tomatoes, sweet potatoes, onions, avocados, canned beets

Fruits: Cantaloupe, apples, strawberries, dried cranberries, applesauce

Drinks: almond milk, coconut water (I never appreciated its natural sweetness before!)

coconut water

Minimally Processed Foods: instant coffee for work, chicken seasoning

Food shopping was easier this week than last week, because I bought fewer processed foods (less time reading ingredients!) and because I knew from last week and a little research online what kind of almond milk, sausage and tuna I could buy.  I’ve been kind of curious as to where my $$ are going on my grocery bill, so I made this:

Grocery Bill Broken Out by Category

(Drinks and minimally processed foods fall under Groceries category)

grocery pie chart

No real surprises; most of my money goes to meat, as it should on this diet!

This Week’s Challenges

I didn’t want to eat out during this 30 day challenge, because eating out without breaking any rules is hard.  There’s hidden sugars and fillers in everything, and who wants to be that person at the restaurant, asking the waiter what’s in each dish on the menu?? Not me.  On the other hand, I didn’t want to turn down all social events for a month, so we ended up with three events involving food on the calendar this week.  I came up with a plan to handle each one to stick as closely as possible to the Whole30:

1. A co-worker’s cookout on Sunday.  How I handled it: I brought a hot dog to the party and asked them if they wouldn’t mind tossing it on the grill.  I was saved from any explanations because Mike had already told them about my diet, and they were really gracious about it! I was also able to eat raw veggies with salsa and grapes for dessert.  Success.

2. Dinner at a restaurant with my aunt, visiting from Singapore.  How I’m handling it: There’s two types of food that I can eat safely at restaurants – salads (ask for no dressing, cheese, etc) and simple grilled meats/ fish.  I picked a seafood restaurant and plan to order grilled fish with no sauces, and steamed veggies on the side.

3. A friend’s birthday bash involving alcohol and finger foods.  How I’m handling it: No alcohol for me, obviously.  This isn’t hard because my friends know I’m not much of a drinker anyway thanks to my “lightweight” status and they don’t pressure me to drink.  I’ll bring my own Whole30 friendly appetizer of cantaloupe wrapped in proscuitto and eat dinner beforehand.

My philosophy is not to sweat the small stuff.  The fish might be brushed with canola before grilling, or maybe I’ll eat meat at the birthday bash marinated with honey, but whatever.   I’ll do my best to judge the ingredients used by looking, but I’m not going to play 20 questions at the restaurant or the party because I’d rather have fun and enjoy what I’m eating.  If I can control 95% of what I’m eating, I think that’s good enough :)

whole30 day8

Author: Dawn H.

I'm Dawn. I went from couch to marathon in 2012, and it hurt so good that I ran 10 more races (including 3 halfs) in 2013 and am currently training for marathon #2! Sneaker Therapy chronicles my adventures as a newbie runner and blogger in DC. I hope to amuse and inspire others on their own fitness quests!

3 thoughts on “Whole30 Week 2 Prep + Cooking

  1. wow, that’s an expensive grocery trip! anthony and i tested out paleo for a few days and then were like, um, no thanks. haha. i think i just need carbs in my life. i am eating toast while i type this.
    good luck with the challenge!

    • Thanks! I definitely miss carbs..we have a pie sitting on the counter that is severely testing my will. Yea, my grocery bill has increased for sure! But on the flip side, I can’t eat out much and when I do, I order salad, so I think in general my food/dining will be about even from before!

  2. Pingback: Whole30 Week 4 Prep + Cooking | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers