when not to run

This past week, I learned the hard way when not to run when I’m sick. I had a pretty bad cold that went down to my lungs, and as soon I felt it going away, I went for a 3 mile run on the treadmill. I figured as long as I kept it slow, I would be fine. I felt okay during the run, but as soon as I was done, I started coughing deep chest coughs and couldn’t stop. I don’t know if I was worse off for running, but I definitely couldn’t exercise for the next few days, which was probably a good thing for my body. After about three days of rest, I got on the elliptical for nearly two hours (I was trying to make up for missing a 10 mile run). Probably also not the best idea, as I felt exhausted afterwards and spiked a low fever. I rested for a day and got on the bike and finally didn’t feel completely crappy after a workout. I’m fine now, but lesson learned to take time to rest when I’m that sick next time.

Leave a Reply

