My 2nd Pacers Race: Love the Run You’re With 5K (Feb 10)

I’m posting this review about a month late, but I was waiting for photos to come out so I could add them in! I love race photos…particularly when they’re free and don’t have watermarks imposed! I signed up for the “Love the Run You’re With 5K” run by Pacers because my Hal Higdon training plan suggested incorporating races in my training on the way to the half-marathon.  I like running shorter races while training for a longer race because it helps me to prep for the racing experience (i.e. what should I wear? what should I eat? transportation? how to prepare for the weather? etc) and because it helps me to gauge my race pace.  It’s also just plain fun! I  had a blast running my first Pacers race last year.

I picked up my packet the day before the race at the Pentagon Row Pacers store.  Instead of a t-shirt, they gave away fleece blankets with the logo of the race:
054

I don’t have many racing t-shirts yet, so I honestly would have preferred a shirt, but I’ve been getting a lot of use out of this blanket this winter on the couch! Runners were also given different bib colors, based on their relationship status selected during registration: green for available (they called this category Stupid Cupid), yellow for complicated (Love ‘Em or Leave ‘Em), and red for in a relationship (Co-Dependent).  Obviously, my bib was red :)

The day of the race, I got dressed in full winter running gear; long-sleeve Nike shirt, running jacket, my warm running tights, socks/gloves/fleece headband.  It was a cold, but thankfully sunny day! Mike drove me to Pentagon Row, and we hung out at the Starbucks (along with 100 other runners who had the same idea) before the start of the race.  Mike ordered a green tea latte, and I made the mistake of taking a few sips…either the soy milk, sugar or green tea didn’t make my stomach too happy during the start of the race :( Army Navy Drive was closed off between 25th Street and S Joyce, which gave us a nice wide road to run on.
009

Pre-race picture in front of the Starbucks :)

The race started on time, but with all the people running, it took me a good few minutes to get to the start line once the gun went off, which was apparent when I compared the chip time and gun time afterwards.  But I felt great once I started running.  The road had about one big hill, but with all the incline training I’ve been doing on the treadmill, it was cake :) The race had a very festive atmosphere, like the last Pacers race I ran, with some runners and groups dressed in costumes.  It made them easy to spot, but I can imagine that a full pink rabbit suit gets hot quickly!

2013 Love the Run You're With 5KCrossing the start line at the beginning of the race

I finished with a PR (personal record) of 26:30, and I think if I hadn’t had the green tea, I would have felt a lot better during the second half of the race and maybe finished a little more quickly.  But I was very happy with my overall time, and there’s plenty of room for improvement in the future!

One thought on “My 2nd Pacers Race: Love the Run You’re With 5K (Feb 10)

  1. Pingback: First PR of the Year – Love the Run You’re With 5K! | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

