NYC Marathon 13.1 Training Plan (Hal Higdon Half Marathon Novice 2)

With my half-marathon approaching in less than 2 weeks, it’s time to post my training plan! LoL, I promise I’ll post a little earlier next time so you can follow along if you’re training for a race in the same timeframe. I like the simplicity of Hal Higdon’s training plans, and he provides plans for various levels for different distances (marathon, half-marathon, 10K, etc). I highly recommend following a plan of some sort and tracking your progress so you can be prepared for your race. It’s also just plain fun to cross each day off as you complete it!

I’m using the Half Marathon – Novice 2 Program with a few changes of my own:

halfmarathon plan 1

I changed the Tuesday runs to tempo runs (sustain a faster-than-usual pace for a few miles) and the Thursday runs to intervals (a few minutes at an easy pace, then a few minutes at a challenging pace, and repeat till done), because I wanted to incorporate some speedwork to (obviously) increase my running pace, and to change it up a little! Straight running four days a week can get a little boring for me (is that heretical?)! I’ll do a post about different types of runs and sample workouts sometime soon.

The other change I made was to Wednesday; the original plan alternates between “pace” and more relaxed runs on Wednesdays – pace runs are supposed to be at your desired race pace (i.e. if you want to run a 2:10 half-marathon, you should be running around 10 min/mile). I almost always run my mid-week runs at faster than race pace, because my desired race pace is really slow – 9:55/mile, which I can definitely sustain for at least 5 miles, so I eliminated the relaxed runs and almost all my runs on Wednesday are at or slightly faster than my race pace. Hope that’s not too confusing.

Here are my workout logs for each week above, where I post about how each week of training went!

Week 10 – Lots of Treadmill Time

Week 11 – Awesome Final Long Run

Week 12 – Ramp Down Week

Enjoy, and happy training!

Leave a Reply

