Strawberry PB Oatmeal!

I’m so excited to share my first recipe with you today! It’s inspired by all the oatmeal posts I’ve seen on the blogs I’ve been reading.  I got tired of eating muffins and yogurt for breakfast, so after this morning’s 3 mile interval run, I came home and looked in my fridge and pantry to see what kind of oatmeal I could make…and came up with Strawberry PB Oatmeal!

011

Strawberry PB Oatmeal (calories: 304)

  • 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1 cup Original Almond Milk (using unsweetened will cut out 30 calories)
  • 2 tablespoons PB2
  • 1 cup strawberries (cut into halves or quarters)

Heat up the milk until it begins to boil, then add the oats and turn the stove off.  Stir for a minute until the oats are mixed in, then scoop it all out into a bowl.  Add your toppings, wait a few minutes till the oatmeal thickens, then enjoy!

Here’s a picture of the ingredients I used, in case you’re curious:

001.jpg

You can see my PB2 on the far right.  PB2 is a powdered peanut butter made of all natural ingredients.  The benefit is that it has peanut butter flavor with far fewer calories (2 TBSP is 45 cal, compared to the 200 cal in regular peanut butter) and fat.  I’ve tried it so far in smoothies and oatmeal and really like it! You can also mix some with water to turn it into a paste and spread it on breads, bagels and the like, but I haven’t tried that yet.  Frankly, I probably won’t because I still LOVE regular peanut butter =P In case you can’t find PB2 in your supermarket (I couldn’t), it’s available in the magical world of online shopping (I got mine from Amazon)!

I finished my delicious and filling breakfast with a cup of Chocolate Pu-erh tea.  Day 4 without coffee.  Oh wait, I lie…I had a decaf coffee yesterday during an afternoon meeting.  Let’s pretend that doesn’t count =)

016.jpg

One thought on “Strawberry PB Oatmeal!

  1. Pingback: NY Half Marathon Packing List | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

