Week of Eats #3

week of eats

Hey guys, I’m excited to share another Week of Eats with you! It’s funny how quickly I’ve adapted to taking pictures of my food, lol.  I just keep my camera in the kitchen and find myself automatically reaching for it as I cook :) So let’s get to it!

Breakfast

I’ve continued with my muffin and Greek yogurt kick; I tried the recipe for Strawberry Orange Muffins from Cooking Light and loved it! My only note is that if you freeze these muffins and reheat them in the microwave as I do, I’d microwave for a short time (15 sec or so) since they tend to get a little mushy.  I also tried the Harris Teeter Greek Yogurts for the first time (they were on sale, duh), and they were pretty tasty.

033 016

I’ve been pretty good at keeping away from the coffee; lately my morning tea of choice has been Twinings Chai Pumpkin Spice Tea (you can find it here), left over from my mad fall tea craze.

Lunch

I loved Gina’s eggplant panini so much that I tried another recipe from Skinnytaste – the Chicken Panini with Arugula, Provolone and Chipotle Mayonnaise and liked it too! I made some significant modifications based on what I had in the fridge…I used spinach instead of arugula, mozzarella instead of provolone, and mustard because I don’t really like mayo.  Lol, I don’t even know if I should link to the recipe, but let’s just say that Gina’s sandwich inspired mine :) I know that the original sandwich must have been really good too.

019
All my ingredients
023
My makeshift panini press!
025
The finished sandwich (please admire my attempts at food photography, lol)
018
If you guys like mustard, you HAVE to try Stonewall Kitchen’s Roasted Garlic Mustard! It’s epic. I found it in my supermarket, and intend to try all their other flavors. If your supermarket doesn’t carry it, you can buy it from their website.

Dinner

I didn’t have to cook for too many days this week, since I was leaving for NY on Wednesday and Mike can fend for himself a few days (which generally means ramen and chicken nuggets lol).  So I picked another delicious looking recipe from Gina – Spicy Black Bean Burgers w/ Chipotle Mayo! Guys, this was a total winner.  For one, you can freeze the burgers until you want to eat them, which means super quick weeknight dinners.  For another, the prep was really fast.  And the flavor was incredible.  I definitely recommend this recipe! A few tips: I found mashing the black beans really easy with a potato masher.  I also suggest using actual oil in your pan to cook this instead of oil spray; my patties stuck to the skillet as they were cooking.   
012
The ingredients…
013
Into the food processor!
014
My “black bean masher” – took all of 1 min.
015
Easy weeknight assembly. Chipotle mayo in the little round tupperware (Mike does like mayo), and frozen bean patties in the rectangular tupperware.
041
The finished burger! This was gone 2 seconds after the picture was taken.

Snacks

Friends, I’m not going to bore you with pictures of my snacks because I realized I have the ability to eat the same stuff week after week after week, lol.  So I had bananas, graham crackers, and the Special K Pastry Crisps that I probably featured on Week of Eats #1 and #2.  I’ll try to switch it up next week =P

Here’s what an average day looked like for me with calorie counts:

week of eats 3

My calorie counts aren’t always the same as the recipe’s; I adjust it based on how I changed the recipe.  I don’t actually calculate it out – I just go by gut feeling (i.e. my sandwich looks like 3/4 the size of theirs!).  Yes, it’s very accurate.

Recipe Links and Dawn Ratings: In case you missed it, here are the recipes I mentioned in this post!

Strawberry Orange Muffin 4 stars! The texture doesn’t hold up that well after freezing
Chicken Panini with Arugula, Provolone, and Chipotle Mayo – I won’t rate the recipe, since I changed it so much.  But my version was a solid 4.5 stars :)
Spicy Black Bean Burgers with Chipotle Mayo 4.5 stars! The patties didn’t hold together as well as I expected, but a little more oil will fix that.

I hope you enjoyed another Week of Eats! I’ll post another early next week :) Eat healthy and be happy!

One thought on “Week of Eats #3

  1. Pingback: A Week of Eats | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

