Week of Eats #4 and Honey Pig Korean BBQ

It’s Good Friday and Easter Weekend! Praise God for his great love towards us and his power over death itself.

We had an awesome dinner at Honey Pig Korean BBQ in Annandale, Virginia last night to celebrate my brother-in-law’s bday! I remembered to bring my camera, so pictures below – but first…
week of eats

Do you guys like my new Week of Eats graphic? I finally figured out how to use PicMonkey, lol.  More fun graphics to come! Here’s some of the yummy stuff we ate in the H household this week.

Breakfast

This will be my last week eating Greek yogurt and muffins for a while – I’ve finally finished up the bag of frozen muffins I made like a month ago, and I’m ready for something new! I’m thinking of trying overnight oatmeal…anyone else on the overnight oatmeal train?  This week’s Greek yogurt was Fage.  I love this stuff, but watch out – the honey flavor packs a whopping 170 calories (it’s a lot of honey). I’m starting to like the flavor of Greek yogurt almost plain, so I just eat a little bit of the honey and save calories that way.
003

Lunch

It’s not that warm in DC yet, but it’s feeling like spring so I made salad this week! And not just any salad…Gina’s Baby Greens with Goat Cheese, Beets, and Candied Pecans – this salad was seriously delicious.  I didn’t know how much I would love goat cheese.  The truth is, I’m avoiding cow’s milk cheese and milk for a while.  I’m lactose intolerant, and while the Lactaid tabs help a little, it’s clear to me that my body is just not meant to digest this stuff! I think I’ll stick to goat cheese and maybe feta for a while.

001
The ingredients (why are my pics so yellow today? lol)
002

Dinner

I had to scratch my head to figure out what we ate for dinner this week.  And then I remembered – smoothies! It’s been a while since we’ve done smoothies for dinner (we did the Abs Diet together back in 2009 or so), but I’ve been inspired by Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers and other healthy bloggers.  Our smoothies were a twist on the Skinnytaste Skinny Green Monster – we used PB2, threw in some strawberries some nights, and used up the last of the flax seed.

065
Our ingredients067
Struggling to get all the spinach into the blender, lol
069
Beautiful green smoothie!

Snacks

I picked up some Justin’s Almond Butter when I was in NY – the big supermarket there is much bigger and better stocked than our little Harris Teeter – so I tried them on graham crackers this week as a way to incorporate a little more protein into my snacks.  It was amazing! I’m going to have to find a place near me that sells this.  My typical morning snack was a graham cracker sheet with half a packet of almond butter.  My other snack was carrot sticks with hummus (unpictured).

011

I’m trying to eat less carbs during snack time – I find it doesn’t fill me up that well.  Which, of course, is why I picked up a box of Triscuits.  But guys, how weird is this flavor?001

It’s actually pretty good – slightly sweet and salty.  Have you tried any of the new Triscuit flavors? What do you think?

Here’s what an average day looked like for me, with calorie counts:

week of eats 4

Recipe Links and Dawn Ratings: In case you missed it, here are the recipes I mentioned in this post!

Baby Greens with Goat Cheese, Beets, and Candied Pecans – 5 stars! I can’t wait to make this again.  I might add a little chicken next time for some additional staying power.

Skinny Green Monster Smoothie – 5 stars.  What an easy way to eat spinach! I think a blender more powerful than ours would probably liquify the spinach a little better, but I don’t mind the little added texture to the smoothie.

And now…pics from Honey Pig.  This is a canteen style restaurant that serves the best Korean BBQ in the NOVA area (Northern Virginia).  Certified by NY Koreans and LA (in Cali, not the state) Koreans, so you know it’s the real deal! Warning: following pics may induce drool or the desire to immediately find some meat to grill.

002 004
Bare bones canteen interior. When we took Mike’s dad here, he said it reminded him of BBQ restaurants in Korea. This is not a fancy place for a first date!
003
The empty grill.
006
We placed 3 orders of kalbi (rib meat), and all the other stuff came with it. Feel free to ask for more of a side dish (banchan in Korean) when you run out. 3 orders was more than enough (although we finished it all!)
008
Me, Mike, and Mike’s Brother S
009
My hubby is not as stern as he looks. I think he’s just scared of cameras. Like our cats.
011
Silly pic! BTW, is anyone else tired of Gangnam Style yet? It came on while we were in the restaurant and we all groaned.

If you decide to go here, I highly recommend coming on a week night or early on a weekend (5 pmish?).  Otherwise, the place is packed and you can expect to wait in line for an hour or so.  Also, everything you wear will smell like meat afterwards, so don’t wear anything fancy!

2 thoughts on “Week of Eats #4 and Honey Pig Korean BBQ

  1. Pingback: DC Foodies and Sightseeing! | sneaker∙therapy

  2. Pingback: Memorial Day Weekend | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

