Running Deals! And Creamy Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Hey guys, I wanted to post some of the awesome deals I’ve seen around the web this month! I’ll share more as I come across them, and feel free to post your own in the comments below!

Deals:
PRO Compression marathon socks, calf sleeves, low socks in baby blue and purple are currently on sale for 40% off and free shipping (code SOMF4, good through April 30)! SkinnyRunner’s post yesterday alerted me to the sale, so I picked up a pair of low running socks as soon as I saw the email this morning :) PRO Compression is donating $1 for each pair of marathon socks purchased to Team in Training or Train 4 Autism – how awesome is that?
purple-short-1012__09643_1351170308_1280_1280
I’ll soon be covering up my unsightly runner feet with these!
Navy-Air Force Half Marathon and 5 Miler registration just opened yesterday, and you can use PT365 or 13EBird for $5 off till April 20.  Run and do a little sightseeing in DC! I’m really tempted to sign up for this one.  I think I’ll either run this or the VHTRC Women’s Trail Half Marathon in September.004

Morning Workout:
– 3 miles on treadmill, last two miles at tempo (~9:00 pace)
Total Body Supersets from PBFingers (didn’t get to Superset 5)

I tried running with my new Garmin Footpod for the first time today (birthday gift!).
garmin foot pod
Sorry for the crappy shot – you guys deserve so much better =P

I’m semi-obsessed with my running stats and keeping track of my workouts, so I wanted the footpod so I could record my treadmill workouts as well as my outdoor runs.  The pod was really easy to attach to my shoelaces, but I have to say, it felt a little weird to put on my GPS watch and head to the gym! The pod was not very accurate for me – by the end of the run, it was off by 0.15 miles from the treadmill distance. Luckily, it is very easy to calibrate so I’ll fix that first thing tomorrow!

And now…another oatmeal post!
023

I think you guys know by now I don’t really “invent” recipes.  I cook a lot, but I always look up recipes rather than try to come up with something on my own.  The closest I get to coming up with a recipe is looking at what I have lying around, and tossing stuff together in reasonable-looking combinations.  So this is that kind of recipe.  That said, I really loved the addition of Greek yogurt to hot oatmeal! It lended a tanginess and creaminess to the oatmeal that made it much more interesting.  Give it a try!

013
The ingredients – minus the Greek yogurt. I think my sister stole the rest ;)
011
Did I mention how much I love almond butter right now? I tried it for the first time when I went home to NY and I’m adding it to everything!

apple cinnamon oatmeal
022

I chose to sprinkle my chia seeds on top for a little crunch, but next time, I’ll mix it in with the milk, oatmeal and apples for a thicker oatmeal! Enjoy!

Are you creative in the kitchen, or do you tend to stick with “tried and true” recipes?

Know of any great running/ fitness-related deals going on? Please share :)

2 thoughts on “Running Deals! And Creamy Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

  1. Dawn, you are definitely a gifted writer and motivated runner. I wish I had your kind of writing ability to inspire.

    I am a USA Track and Field certified coach with TeachtoRun.com and I coach 2 teams, a couch to 5k class and a number of adults at various levels. I would love to chat with you about how your running is going and if you are interested in sharing some writing tips and maybe some travel advice about an upcoming trip to D.C. I’d love to write up a custom plan for your for your next race. Please shoot me an email.

  2. Pingback: March Favorites! And Double Chocolate Coconut Granola Bars | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

