March Favorites! And Double Chocolate Coconut Granola Bars

March Favorites
Hey guys, this month’s “favorite” post is going to be a quick one, because I’ve already posted about most of this stuff and because I’m too excited to write up my new recipe! I got my new jacket in preparation for rainy and windy runs (DC weather has been a little unpredictable lately) – the Brooks Nightlife L.S.D. Lite Jacket III! Guys, this jacket is very lightweight and definitely helps cut the wind.  I haven’t run in any heavy rain yet, but it is at least water-resistant.
jacket collage
The top pictures show how lightweight it is and how easily it packs away into a small sack.  It’s highly visible at night, and cute to boot! The hood has a cinch in the back to tighten it and prevent the hood from coming off in the wind/rain.   I got my jacket from Zappos.  Hooray for next day shipping :)

Speaking of Zappos, I got this very cute but sort of random card in the mail the other day:

002

Lol.  Has anyone else gotten a similar card from Zappos?

The next two things I got in the mail were early birthday presents! My brand spankin’ new Saucony Cortanas and a Garmin Footpod! My love for the Cortanas is legendary, and I’ve been running with the Garmin Footpod almost daily.  I blogged about the Cortanas here and about the Garmin Footpod here.

030
Mmm I love that new sneaker smell…
029

I’ve also been trying out a few new teas in my effort to stay coffee-free (I make the occasional exception for a cup of good decaf).  The Numi Magnolia Pu-erh on the left is pretty fantastic! I’ve ever had pu-erh tea before, but the flavor was delicious and it delivered a good dose of caffeine.  Unfortunately, I really didn’t like the two teas on the right (Tazo Passion and Celestial Seasonings Cinnamon Apple Spice).  I think I find the flavor of most herbal teas too strong or too sour, so I’ll be sticking to rooibus from now on for my afternoon non-caffeinated fix!

tea collage

Image for the Celestial Seasonings Cinnamon Apple Spice from here because I gave away my box immediately.

And now…

Granola Bars

I think you guys are going to really like these! I was looking for a recipe to try baking with coconut flour for the first time, and I decided in the end to make a variation on Anne’s Oatmeal Dark Chocolate Granola Bars.  Anne, by the way, is a fellow DC area blogger, and her recipes are wonderful! Check her out at Fannetastic Food :) I substituted coconut flour and some cocoa powder for regular flour, and used maple syrup instead of brown sugar to increase the amount of liquid (coconut flour needs to be balanced out by more liquid, otherwise the end product is too dense).  The end result was a delightfully chewy and moist bar studded with chocolate chips with a hint of coconut! I believe it is also gluten free, as long as you use GF oats.

013
The ingredients
014
016
In the pan, before baking
021
Stack of tasty bars!

Double Chocolate Coconut Granola Bars

Ingredients:

– 2 cups oats
– 1/4 cup coconut flour
– 1 tb unsweetened cocoa powder
– 1/4 cup chocolate chips
– 2 tsp cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1.5 cups almond milk
– 3 tb honey
– 1 egg
– 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 F. Mix the dry ingredients (oats through salt) in a big bowl, and mix the wet ingredients in a smaller bowl. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix by hand. Let the batter sit for a few minutes to let the coconut flour absorb the liquid. Spray an 11×7 baking pan with baking spray, then evenly spread the batter in the pan. Bake for 30 min. After cooling, cut into 10 evenly sized bars.

My bars have about 137 calories per serving (a serving size is one bar), perfect for a post workout snack or dessert! Feel free to add your own mix-ins – coconut flakes would boost the coconut flavor, if that’s what you’re looking for, and any kind of nuts would go well with these bars.

Enjoy! It’s almost the weekend :) My race is in three days! Anyone else running a race this weekend?

4 thoughts on “March Favorites! And Double Chocolate Coconut Granola Bars

    1. Dawn H.

      Oh that’s awesome! Brooks is my favorite company (I love their clothing and Glycerin sneakers), so I’ll be looking forward to seeing product reviews on your blog!

  1. Pingback: Cherry Blossom 10 Mile: Racing in Compression Socks is the Best | sneaker∙therapy

  2. Pingback: Some Pics from the Weekend | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

