Quick and Low-Cal Korean Soft Tofu Stew and a Teaser!

I’ve been having the worst insomnia lately – I haven’t slept more than a few hours a night for three nights in a row! I’m not feeling that tired yet though…maybe it’s all the healthy food I’ve been eating? The only good thing about staying up late is that I get to spend more time with Lucy Cat.

IMG_20130404_034124
This cat loves getting me all to herself :) Picture from my Instagram

But I still got my Morning Workout in! And it was a good one:
– 3.28 treadmill Interval run, incline 1.5 and max speed 8.0!
– 30 min weight lifting circuit – focus on arms and abs (another PBFingers workout!)

I’ve been really into weight lifting lately! I like it because it gives me the opportunity to work out different muscles than running does, and it’s exciting to see how much I’m improving.  I’ve gone from barely being able to do a full set of bicep curls with 5 lbs to easily finishing two sets with 10 lbs! It’s also had an impact on my abdominal physique, to my surprise.  Not that I have washboard abs or anything…yet =P

BTW I recently signed up for Pinterest I know, I’m late to the game.  But I got sucked in quite quickly, and I really like it for pinning workouts and recipes to try.  You can see click on the Pinterest icon on the right sidebar to see lots of circuit workouts on my “Workouts to Try” Board!

After a fantastic workout, it was time for lunch.  I looked in the fridge and saw two packages of nearly expired soft tofu and immediately decided to make my Korean Soft Tofu Stew. This recipe is really easy and so tasty.  If you’re interested in a slightly spicy and low-cal Korean stew, you should give this a try!

008

Ingredients: Extra soft tofu, tofu broth seasoning packet, veggies (I used napa cabbage), an egg.  Optional: miso paste and dried seaweed.  This dish is traditionally made with extra soft tofu, but you could also use soft silken tofu and the texture would be similar.

soondubu collage

Steps:  First, add about a cup of water and the tofu seasoning packet into a pot and let it come to a boil.  Add a few pieces of dried seaweed if you’d like.  Let it boil for 2 minutes, and in the meantime, prep your veggies! Add the veggies to the pot and let it boil another minute or so.  Then, squeeze out the soft tofu in chunks.  Let it boil for another 3-4 minutes.  Taste the broth at this point, and if it lacks seasoning, add some miso paste (I added about a tablespoon).  Finally, add an egg (you can either poach it in the broth or mix it in).  Boil for another minute or so and then you’re done!

021

I ate my soup with some Korean pickled radishes on the side.  Without rice, this bowl of soup comes out to about 250 calories.  This dish is versatile, like a lot of soups and stews – you could add meat, seafood, and all sorts of veggies.  I like to add sliced pork and spicy peppers.  Here’s some close-ups of the ingredients I used.  Let me know if you have any questions! 

017 014 013

I don’t know what “Sea Tangle” is – this is thick pieces of seaweed, like you sometimes get in miso soup.

019

I like miso paste that contains dashi stock, and I add it to all sorts of broths and ramen too!

Let me know if you try the recipe! And I’ll be posting a recipe for this soon…

019

 

Double Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal Bars! I’m so happy with how they turned out and I can’t wait to share the recipe with you guys :)

2 thoughts on “Quick and Low-Cal Korean Soft Tofu Stew and a Teaser!

  1. Pingback: Korean “Spaghetti” Recipe and Klutchclub LivingSocial Deal | sneaker∙therapy

  2. Pingback: Cherry Blossom 10 Mile: Racing in Compression Socks is the Best | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

