Week of Eats #5 – More Tempeh, Please! And How to Save Unused Tomato Paste

Happy Friday everyone! Thanks to all my new blog followers this week – I hope to keep posting stuff you all like :)

I’m starting to get some nervous/ excited jitters for my race on Sunday! I spent some time researching my pre-race schedule on Sunday morning (i.e. how long does it take to walk from the metro stop to the bag drop, how long does the metro ride itself take, in what order should I do bag drop/ meet up with my new running club). I swear I’m not OCD, just…obsessive. LOL. Thank God my left foot has done okay on my training runs this week.

week of eats

Look at how full my lunchbox has been this week! I’ve been trying to eat a little better for my body – more veggies and protein, less bread/ pasta/ rice for snacks and mealtimes.  I’ve been feeling more energetic and less hungry as a result, but my new meals/ snacks have been challenging the capacity of my lunchbox006
My breakfast, morning snack, lunch, and afternoon snack
008
Everything sort of fits into my lunchbox…barely!

So what I have I been eating this week?

Breakfast
All the pictures of overnight oats on Kath’s and Julie’s blogs and many others finally pushed me to try it, despite my love of and devotion to hot oats. But to my surprise, I like cold oatmeal! It was also a great excuse to eat Justin’s Chocolate Almond Butter every day.
022
049
My overnight oats consisted of 1/2 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup almond milk, a generous dollop of Greek yogurt, 1/2 a frozen banana, 1 TB chia seeds and 1/2 TB of almond butter for a very filling breakfast of about 300 calories. A breeze to put together the night before.

Lunch
Lunch was more tempeh salad! I’m loving this stuff – maybe BBQ tempeh is next? I made my salads with a base of greens (obvi..), a few slices of tempeh, 1/4 avocado, some sunflower seeds, and a balsamic/honey vinaigrette for about 305 calories.
053
Crispy tempeh triangles in the pan!

Dinner
Dinner this week alternated between smoothies and Gina’s Crockpot Sesame Honey Chicken.  As much as I love Gina’s recipes on Skinnytaste, this one just didn’t do it for me.  I think the crockpot just dilutes flavor too much for me (crockpot chili being a general exception).  I bet this would be fantastic in a Dutch oven though, maybe with a little more sriracha!
chicken crockpot  004
Mike’s plate, with a mix of forbidden black rice and white rice
005
My plate, with a microwaved sweet potato (staying away from rice/ bread for the most part, thanks to my new semi-Paleo inspired eating habits). I calculated my plate at about 250 calories.

I learned a new trick this week for saving tomato paste! I rarely use the whole can in a recipe, and end up throwing the rest away, which results in a massive guilt trip (my dad didn’t skimp on the “starving African children” lecture growing up).  But this time, I Googled “tomato paste save??” and found this handy tip: just scoop out the tomato paste into blobs onto wax paper and freeze it for a few hours.  Then you can put the frozen pieces in a Ziploc baggie and save it in the freezer forever for a few months.045

Snacks
This is where I made the biggest change this week. When I did the Abs Diet a few years ago, I really liked the suggestion to build snacks with two elements, a protein/ dairy part, and a fruit/veggie/carb part.  I found snacking this way to be fun and tasty, and very filling to boot! So I went from eating graham crackers and Special K bars to: 048
Carrots and olive hummus…mmmm! And…
001
A hard boiled egg and a pear.

I loved my snacks this week, and I think staying away from processed carbs has also done wonders for my energy levels.  If your snacking is getting boring or doesn’t fill you up, why not try switching it up this week?

We also discovered a new Lucy Cat approved product:
021 025

She might have liked it even more than we did!

BTW, I’ve decided to drop my “Average Day with Calorie Counts” from my Week of Eats posts, because unless you’re planning to eat exactly what I did, it doesn’t really add anything to the post. Let me know in the comments if you found it useful and want it back!

Leave a Reply

