My Failed Tofu Experiment and my 2011 5K

Today’s Workout:
– 45 min elliptical
Biceps, Triceps, Shoulders and Abs Workout from PBFingers

I’m really enjoying weight-lifting right now! I can feel my arms and abs getting stronger for sure – I was able to do almost all my bicep reps with 10lbs today :) I know that’s weak sauce for some of you but hey, a girl’s gotta start somewhere.  I have a funny/ sort of sad cooking story for you today…

My Failed Tofu Experiment
I don’t experiment a lot in the kitchen, with good reason. I’m great at following recipes and modifying them a little bit, but once I decide to strike out on my own, I’m in uncharted territory and tend to lose my way.  A prime example was a few days ago, when I decided to use up the last of my slightly expired tofu in a dessert experiment that went quickly wrong.  Please friends, don’t make this.
017
The ill-fated ingredients – tofu, almond extract, and chocolate chips

I had this vague idea of trying to make a dish similar to the almond tofu I like at dim sum, with a chocolate twist. So, first, I pureed the tofu and half a teaspoon of extract in my blender.
018

Then I proceed to melt chocolate chips in the microwave, and stir them into the tofu. The chocolate chips solidified as soon as they hit the tofu, so I now had chunks of chocolate and unsweetened tofu of a slightly gritty, watery texture. See how unappealing that sounds? But I was determined to fix it! So I poured in 3 tablespoons or so of maple syrup.
019

And then maybe another 3 tablespoons.  It was now sweet, but still watery, not the silky solid texture of almond tofu. So I put it in the freezer for 30 min. Which didn’t do much, so at this point I just ate the mess.  Truthfully, it wasn’t awful, but it wasn’t appetizing either.  I felt so sad that my cooking experiment ended in failure! Lesson learned: next time, do a little Googling and actually start with a recipe at least, lol.  Not all of us are talented in the kitchen.

I had a really cool moment yesterday! My friend had pressed me into signing up for a 5K on a Friday a few years ago (back when I was NOT A runner).  I was suddenly reminded of that race when I looked on the Pacers website and saw it listed again this year.  I was kind of curious what my time was back then, so I went searching online to see if I could find my finishing time.  The Internet has All.The.Data. Seriously. Have you guys heard of Athlinks? If you’ve run any races, go to the website and type your name in! That website had my stats for every race I’ve run! Including this one, from April 2011:

old race results

It was so cool to see how much I’ve improved! I ran a 5K in February of this year in 26:30, over 5 minutes faster than my time 2 years ago. I hope I continue improving and getting faster in the coming years. Hopefully seeing my improvement and following my running journey inspires you to keep on running! If I can do it, you can do it too.

Readers, do you have any good dessert or sweet recipes using soft tofu? My last tube is gone, but I’d love to hear your ideas and try them next time!

Happy Thursday! The weather has been so beautiful and warm that all I want to eat are SALADS! I’ll leave you with this picture so you can feel springy too :)

IMG_20130409_192118_649

Leave a Reply

