Thursday Tip – Read a Book!

Morning Workout

– 5 miles outside, easy pace

I had to pull out my long sleeved shirt again – DC weather has been fickle! It was a beautiful morning for a run though – not a cloud in sight.  I made a spur of the moment decision this morning to switch up my usual running route and was so glad I did.  I liked the challenge of finding my way on the new path and discovering new hills/ downhills.  It’s nice to change up the routine every once in a while!

run 25Apr13I did some cooking and reading last night.  Cooking might be a bit of an overstatement; I made my low-cal Peanut Butter Chocolate Balls and some more easy Homemade Granola – soo good with some yogurt or on its own!

003 004

I may have made myself a little froyo concoction too – TCBY’s Peach Greek yogurt with blackberries and chocolate chips.  This flavor was good, but the Pomegranate Blueberry is still my favorite.

tcby peach

Back to the Library!

After a long reading dry spell, I’ve turned into a bookworm again! I’ve always loved reading, but I also believe that reading good writing makes you a better writer – can you see my writing improving?? LoL, I’m not promising Nobel Prize worthy writing here.

My favorite way to get reading material is borrowing books from the library.  Kindle books are convenient, but I love having a real book in my hands and turning the pages.  Plus, I’ve always loved libraries.  They’re so quiet and clean, and it seems like there’s an endless number of books to find and love.  And the books are free!

I’ve been perusing Goodreads for hours on end, and I’ve built up a list of 150 books or so on my “To Read” shelf (and I add to it all the time)!  I’m trying to read more diversely these days rather than just checking out stacks of mysteries and chick-lit.

So last week, I borrowed:

–  Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford (fiction)
–  Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe (autobiography)
Incendiary by Chris Cleave (fiction)
– and I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella (chick lit)

I’ll venture into the non-fiction realm a little more next week…

books1

I LOVED Rob Lowe’s autobiography! He’s someone who’s had a long history with Hollywood and he has all sorts of stories to tell. He had some self-deprecating humor (but it wasn’t over the top) and his thoughts were intelligent and interesting to read. I admired that he wrote about all his colleagues (even the difficult ones) with a great deal of respect. Highly recommend.

It turned out that I had already read Incendiary a while ago, lol.  Oh well, that’s the great thing about Goodreads – I can mark it as read and then I won’t do that again.  It’s written in the voice of a woman who lost her son and husband in a terrorist bombing attack on a soccer stadium (incident is fictional, but the book was published on 7/7/05, the day of the London bombings).  Even though her life and mind spiral downhill throughout the book, the writer made it easy for me to understand what she was thinking and empathize with the actions she took.

I’m not usually a fan of historical fiction, but I did like Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.  I liked watching Henry mature and seeing how his relationship with his dad influenced what kind of father he wanted to be to his son.  I related to his difficult family dynamics as a second generation Asian myself, and admired his determination to accept and love his son and wonderful daughter-in-law.  I also loved seeing the acceptance and love between different cultures – Henry and Sheldon, Henry and Keiko, and Henry and Samantha – if only it was always that easy!

I’ve loved everything I’ve read by Sophie Kinsella, and I’ve Got Your Number is no exception.  Her books are fun and light, and while her characters are often silly and a little bird-brained, they have a good heart and lots of luck.  And always find the right man.

Here’s what’s on my shelf now:

Born to Run by Christopher McDougall (running non-fiction, yes that’s a category for me)
The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson (non-fiction)
Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner (chick lit – a must!)
Public Enemies by John Walsh
Girl Walks into a Bar by Rachel Dratch (autobiography)

034

I think that’s a pretty good mix that should keep me occupied for a while! Time to clean off the chair on the balcony again :) I might add a classic or two next time – there’s so many I haven’t read.

If you’re still lacking reading inspiration, Gina at The Fitnessista has a post on her top five favorite books – I’ve read all but the last, and now that’s on my reading list.

What’s on your reading list right now?

What’s your favorite way to get reading material – Kindle ebooks, library, Borders/Barnes and Noble, other?

Leave a Reply

