Snapshots from the Weekend

Friday

Celebrated the end of the week with some banh mi.  I think this is the best thing you can eat for $3.50.  Some beers might have also been involved (Mike got a variety case of Sam Adams on a Costco run).

banh mi banh mi 2

I then did a little cooking – Puffed Millet bars.  Recipe coming later this week!

009

Then I prepped for my Saturday morning run.  I needed to bring more than usual because I was going into DC and trying out a new running route.  So I wrote the rough directions down, and thankfully my Nathan’s belt held all it needed to (phone, credit card/ID/metro card, a gel, car key).

017 013 014

Saturday

Woke up around 7 AM and went into DC for a run.  I started by the Rosslyn metro station and promptly got lost.  I was opening Google Maps on my phone every two minutes. I muddled around for a bit, then finally found the Iwo Jima Memorial.

dcrun6

The Face of America ride was going on this weekend, and by following the bikers I was able to find my way to the Arlington National Cemetery, and from there it was a straight shot to the Memorial Bridge and into DC.
dcrun2 dcrun5

I ran around the Jefferson Monument, towards the Vietnam and Korean War Memorials, along the Reflecting Pool towards the World War II Memorial, then around the Tidal Basin. There are some memorials/ monuments there that I hadn’t seen before, like the (new?) MLK Memorial and the beautiful and peaceful FDR Memorial. I took a few pictures in the beginning, then concentrated on my run. More pics next time.  I ended my 8 mile run at the Arlington Cemetery metro stop instead of heading back to Rosslyn.

dcrun4 dcrun

When I got home, it was time for some breakfast. Leftover banh mi and chocolate milk for the win.

018 019

Then it was time for my first golf lesson with Mike! So not only is he ridiculously handsome and super smart, but my husband also happens to be a crack golfer.  Proof – after he was done teaching me, another golfer came over to his box and asked him for some tips.  Not gonna lie guys, I found golf to be really tough and frustrating, but we’ll keep working at it and I think I’ll learn to enjoy it…eventually.

my golf outfit
Nope, I didn’t change after running. I’m gonna start a new trend in golf attire – compression socks!
028 033
My new running (and golf, apparently) sunglasses! I’ll review them later on my April Favorites post.
golf
Mike instructing another golfer.

And then it was time to see Lexi and Andrew! Lexi just got back from a long stay in NY, and I MISSED her. They brought us gifts from a Paris trip – matching mugs and Paris coasters. We’re all classy now and have coasters around the house.

040 041

Then we were off to Dave and Busters, which is like an adult version of Chuck E. Cheese (they serve beer), although there are kids there too. We were pretty obsessed with the game where you drop a ball and try to get into the chute that gets you 450 tickets.
037

Afterwards, we went back to their place and devoured some Thai food while watching “Who’s Line is it Anyway?” Have you guys ever seen this show? It’s hilarious!! I’ll have to borrow Lexi’s DVD set to watch some more episodes and pee my pants laughing.

Sunday

I woke up hungry on Sunday, and quickly set to making a delicious bowl of hot oatmeal.  I got a sample packet of Coach’s Oats a few weeks ago, so I cooked that up in a pot, but it made for a too-small (but delicious) bowl of oatmeal. Not to fear – some blackberries, dried coconut flakes, puffed millet, and Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter (from Peanut Butter & Co) added bulk and extra deliciousness. I mixed up some chocolate chia pudding with the last of my coconut milk while waiting for the oatmeal to cook.

coachsoats1 coachsoats2 coachsoats3 chia pudding

The rest of the day was dedicated to church, laundry, and massive amounts of cooking. I can’t wait to share what we ate on my Friday Week of Eats post. If you’re looking for some inspiration, I made Baked Banana Oatmeal for breakfast, Roasted Veggie Buddha Bowls for lunch, and Mexican Lasagna for dinner.  My reviews and pics to come!

7 thoughts on “Snapshots from the Weekend

  1. I started the Whole30 challenge on Saturday so all of your food pictures are killin’ me! But, I love ALL of your pictures! You did a great job documenting your weekend. It sounds like you had a blast!

    1. Dawn H.

      LoL sorry to hear that. But I’m looking forward to reading about your Whole30 journey and I hope you find yourself with tons of energy :)

  2. Pingback: Workout Log and Pittsburgh Rock’n’Roll Cancelled :( | sneaker∙therapy

  3. Sister J

    why is your coconut milk pink? lol. also, i LOVE banh mi!!!!!!!! there was a place by my workplace in brooklyn over the summer that makes incredible banh mi with seitan (sorry, i know i’ve told you this at least six times haha).

    1. Dawn H.

      Yea I was thinking that myself when I saw the pic – it’s just bad lighting, it was closer to a lighter brown color from the cocoa powder mixed with off-white almond milk.

  4. Pingback: Workout Log May 5 – 11 | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

