Chocolate Puffed Millet Treats

Tuesday’s Workout

– AM – Body Combat class
– PM – 3 miles outside

I got my butt out of bed at 5:40 AM to go to Body Combat for the first time this year, because I wanted to switch up my usual routine of weights and running.  Guys, it was a kick butt workout! I forgot how much fun all that punching and kicking can be, and Christine injected the class with TONS of energy. For those of you unfamiliar with Body Combat, it’s a martial arts fitness class set to seven or eight tracks of music, and each track focuses on a series of motions based (loosely?) on a type of martial art. So for one track, we did Capoeira (Brazilian martial arts) inspired movements, for two, we were boxing, for another it was MMA, another was Muay Thai, etc. The class went by so fast and I was sweating a ton through it all.  I’m gonna save you from a pic of my sweaty face and post this instead.

bodycombat
Not me.

And with my morning wakeup time slowly getting earlier and earlier (started at 6:30 AM, and now I’m getting up nearly an hour earlier) and my attempt to stay away from coffee, it’s a good thing I have my favorite tea waiting for me at work:

vaniila_cinn_tea

Yum – I can drink this stuff straight without sugar! It was supposed to be a winter/Christmas-y tea, but I bought about five boxes of tea over the winter and now I’m working on finishing all those darn teas :)

Some Fun Stuff from Vitacost

I placed an order on Vitacost a few weeks ago with the sole purpose of getting some digestive enzymes (I’ll post on that some other time) and tacked on a few fun things to my order.  I got some xanthan gum to thicken smoothies:

xanthan gum smoothie

I hadn’t tried xanthan gum before – it sounds like an element of the periodic table to me! – but Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers uses it all the time to thicken smoothies, and it works VERY well! I don’t know how to take a picture to convey how thick the smoothie was, but after adding a teaspoon, I had to eat the smoothie with the aid of a spoon. I love thick and creamy smoothies, so this will become a staple in our house.  The bag we ordered should last us at least a year though.

And…puffed millet! I added this because it looked like fun (like rice krispies or something) and it was cheap ($1.60 for a pack of two).  And then when it came I realized I had no idea what to do with it, lol.

puffed millet

It’s puffy, round, and slightly crispy.  Like Rice Krispies.  So the logical thing to do was to google Puffed Millet bars, and I ended up making Chocolate Puffed Millet Treats!

Chocolate Puffed Millet Treats

I followed this recipe, and subbed chocolate almond butter for peanut butter and used coconut flakes for my dried fruit.

004 006 008 009

This took all of 5 min to put together, and the hardest part was waiting for it to cool! I won’t post the recipe, since I followed it exactly this time.  But this was very tasty.  In fact, I couldn’t help eating it out of the pan before I stuck it into the fridge to cool.

010 011

I cut the pan into 12 bars, and calculated it at 130 kcal a serving.  I think I’ll give it a try with peanut butter and chocolate chips next time.

I’ve also added puffed millet to hot oatmeal for some crunch and texture.  It would also be great in yogurt bowls, I’m sure!

coachsoats3

What food or food product have you tried recently?

Any puffed millet ideas for me? I still have a bag and a half left!

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Puffed Millet Treats

  1. Pingback: Double Chocolate Smoothie | sneaker∙therapy

  2. Sister J

    do you want to make extra chocolate puffed millets and bring them to boston at the end of the month? i definitely wouldn’t mind :). also, is your wooden spoon by danny seo? looks like one of the bamboo spoons from his kitchen line!

    1. Dawn H.

      Heh let’s see how hot it is! That’s a good idea though, b/c otherwise I have no idea what to do with all this puffed millet! I have no idea; we got it from either Target or T.J. Maxx. Or possibly the William and Sonoma Outlet. It’s holding up very well though, and I like the grip on it.

  3. Pingback: 3 Mile Treadmill Interval Workout | sneaker∙therapy

  4. Pingback: Eats and Workouts | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

