Double Chocolate Smoothie

Wednesday Workout:

– 4 mile T/M run (1.5 incline, 6.2 speed)

I did a slow, recovery pace run today because I could barely move when I woke up, thanks to the butt-kicking workout I got yesterday in Body Combat.  I’ll be doing that again for sure!

Touched by an Angel?

Yesterday was a little crazier than usual. We had to go to the UPS store to get something notarized (did you know they did that? I didn’t!), and I forgot my ID. So we had to go home to pick up my wallet and then drive back to UPS (sorry hon!!). After we successfully got the document notarized, we went looking for a FedEx box to mail the paperwork. After running around Shirlington looking for the FedEx box that I SWEAR used to be right in front of the post office, we looked up the FedEx website on the phone and saw that there was a drop box close to home. So we drove to the location, and couldn’t find the box there either. But as I was frantically running around outside with the FedEx envelope (in the rain, no less), a lady beckoned me inside an office building, and said, “Follow me”.  I replied, “Do you know what I’m looking for??” and she smiled and walked me to the drop box! I’m pretty sure she was an angel, sent to help me find the FedEx box.  You know, like in Touched by an Angel.  Anyone else remember this show? I was a huge fan. 

touched by an angel

Anyway, all that took us an hour or two, and when I got home, I decided to skip my run (I’ll make it up on Friday morning) and make myself a Double Chocolate Shake. Guys, this might be my favorite shake ever.

Double Chocolate Shake

If you like chocolate, you’ll probably like this shake.  It’s similar to STUFT Mama’s Lazy Mama Mocha Spinach Smoothie, so check that out too.  I also started a Pinterest board labeled Smoothies/ Shakes, so you can browse there for more smoothie inspiration!chocolate shake 1
The basics: spinach, Greek yogurt, almond milk, frozen bananas
chocolate shake 2
The chocolate: Designer Whey Protein in Chocolate and cocoa powder

The Ingredients:
– 1 c almond milk
– 1/3 c plain Greek yogurt
– 1/2 a frozen banana
– 1 c spinach (or however much you can fit in, spinach has minimal calories and is obviously very good for you)
– 2 Tbsp cocoa powder
– 0.8 scoop Designer Whey chocolate protein powder

Place all ingredients in blender, and blend till smooth. Makes one large serving of about 270 calories
chocolate shake 3

It doesn’t look like much (brown chocolate + green spinach = unappetizing color ), but this had GREAT chocolate flavor and provided some needed endorphins last night!

Reading

On the books front, I finished The Ghost Map! It was kind of a slow read, but told a very interesting story about the severity of the 1850s cholera epidemic in London, the brilliance of the key players, and how the investigation into the epidemic led to major changes in urban planning and epidemiological mapping.  I’ll post a more thorough review later.

006

Next up: Public Enemies.  I realized today that I picked up another book by the same name; I meant to get the one about the 1930s crime wave in America and the birth of the FBI, the one that was recently made into a movie, the one by Bryan Burrough.  Instead, I got this one:

007

Oops.  I think I’ll read it anyway, since I have it.  I think it’s about how America’s Most Wanted helped catch rapists and murders, so hopefully I won’t be crying every night as I read this book.  Or ask Mike if we can move to a remote island.

What are you reading right now?

Have you ever been helped by a mysterious stranger? Multiple times. When I was in second grade, my parents accidentally dropped me off at school on MLK day; the school was closed and it was snowing.  A stranger found me a few hours later and drove me home.

4 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Smoothie

  1. Ashley @ OurPersonalRecords

    I’m currently reading The Great Gatsby in preparation for the movie release! I’m currently on crutches and random strangers are constantly helping me! It’s refreshing!

    1. Dawn H.

      Oo I’m excited for the movie, it looks pretty epic! I might also have to re-read the book; my memories from high school English are a little fuzzy, lol.

  2. Pingback: Lucy’s Canned Pumpkin Addiction and a Few Book Reviews | sneaker∙therapy

  3. Pingback: Friday Week of Eats | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

