I Tricked Myself and April Favorites!

Monday’s Workout

Yesterday, I was all pumped up to go to spin class after work – other than the Flywheel class we took in Atlanta, I haven’t been to spin in a while.  But I have a REALLY hard time working out in the evening, and sure enough, as soon as I left the office, the voice in my head started saying, “Oh, I feel pretty tired.  Let’s skip today.  I went to yoga AND Body Pump yesterday, so I deserve a break.  My muscles feel sore.”  Normally, I would listen to the voice, go home and sit on the couch and do nothing that evening.  But yesterday, I just let the voice talk and talk (no, I’m not actually crazy lol), and in the meantime, I got off the bus, got dressed in gym clothes, and went to the gym!  I think the key is NOT letting myself sit down on the couch when I get home.

This mini Lara bar gave me some energy too:

apple pie larabar

I got to the gym about 30 min before my spin class, so I sat on the recumbent bike and did a short hill workout to warm up.  Total workout:

– 25 min on recumbent bike
– 55 min in Jen’s kick-butt spin class!

I immediately refueled after class with a Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Smoothie, with some strawberries and the last of my spinach added in:

chocolate peanut butter cup smoothie

My legs were REALLY sore (after Body Pump on Sunday, 1.5 hours of cycling Monday, no wonder), so I spent a good ten minutes with my foam roller.  I even debated doing an ice bath…and ended up taking a hot bath instead :) Does that do anything for your muscles?

And now…time for my April “Hits and Misses”!

april favorites

I think you all know how much I love Pro Compression’s marathon socks – I feel so much faster when I wear them! I’ve been wearing them for all my long runs. I also bought a pair of their Trainer Lows, which are fine, but I didn’t notice any difference between these and my normal Adidas socks (I buy packs of these at Costco for a great price).

pro pink pro trainer low

I also finally got a pair of running sunglasses! I picked up a pair of Tifosi Jet sunglasses (mine are Racer Red) down in Atlanta, at a golf store and am in LOVE.  They are very lightweight, don’t fog up, and don’t slide around thanks to the hydrophilic nose and ear pieces.  It also comes with a solid storage case.

sunglasses sunglasses sunglass case

I’m not completely sold on my CW-X Stabilyx Compression Shorts – they’re so tight and hard to pull on, but they definitely make my hips feel supported and I think I even run faster.  I’ll keep wearing them and see how they feel for longer runs.  I’m also not crazy about the Nathan’s Gel Belt – it’s not that stretchy so it doesn’t stay in place very well for me, and when I put my phone in it, it just jumps around like crazy.  I like my belts low on my hips though – if you tighten it around your waist it might stay put.

cw-x compression nathan's gel belt

And a few great food finds! I love Peanut Butter & Co’s Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut Butter – love the spice of the cinnamon and sweetness of the raisins! This went on pretzels, in my overnight oats, and was also consumed straight from the jar :)

017

I’ve also been enjoying the box of mini Lara bars I ordered from drugstore.com.  It contains a mix of Apple Pie, Cashew Cookie, and Cherry Pie.  The best part is the simplicity of the ingredients! They’re all about 100 calories and very tasty.

lara bar box lara bar ingredients

What’s your favorite (or least favorite) find this month?

Are you fan of date bars? I didn’t think I was, until I tried Lara Bars!

5 thoughts on “I Tricked Myself and April Favorites!

  1. Ashley @ OurPersonalRecords

    I’ve never had those Lara Bars, but after seeing the ingredients and confirming that they are gluten-free I will have to give them a try! And that peanut butter! I need to find some!

    1. Dawn H.

      They’re really good! I bet it would be easy to make them at home as well – I might try making copy cat bars after I run out. I found the PB at a Harris Teeter in VA.

  2. Oh wow! That raisin swirl Peanut Butter is making my mouth water.. I wish it was available to buy in the UK, I bet it tastes amazing with porridge! Your Pro Compression pink socks are also very awesome, I’ve been thinking about a pair of compression socks but can’t settle on a pair!

    1. Dawn H.

      I’m thinking it can’t be hard to mix up by hand – just add cinnamon and raisin to PB. I’ll try it and let you know how similar it is! I highly recommend Pros; they work really well for running, and they almost always have a coupon going! BLG13 gets you 40% off any marathon socks right now.

  3. Pingback: Springfield 15K/ 5K | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

