Proper Endurance Running Form

Wednesday Rest Day

I meant to go for a 5 mile run in the morning yesterday, but ended up being too tired after another sleepless night, thanks to insomnia.  So I made it my rest day since I had plans to attend an lecture hosted through my alumni group!

After work, I headed to Cosi and sipped on a hot chocolate to ward off the chilly weather while reading Born to Run.

cosi

The dinner and lecture were hosted at China Garden in Arlington. Mike and I really like their dim sum but haven’t been there for a meal before. The organizer had ordered a great spread of dishes, which we enjoyed family style.

china garden

It was fun meeting other alumni, and the speaker, Professor Mark Katz from George Mason University, gave a very interesting talk about parallels between the Cold War and the War on Terror, and lessons the US can apply from the previous period regarding conflict resolution to the conflicts going on today.  The only downside to the evening was that I got a bad fortune cookie:

fortune cookie

Obviously, I immediately texted Mike to make sure we were okay.  Multiple times.

Thursday’s Workout

~6 mile run outside, easy speed

I got my butt out of bed at 5:40 this morning, determined to get my run on.  I fueled with a few bites of this Trader Joe’s Brownie and Oat bar; I find these to be too sweet for a regular snack, but I like it as a source of quick sugar before a run.tj chocolate chip brownie and oat bar

When I got outside, my watch had somehow set itself on “Indoor” mode and would not do its GPS thing! I decided to just time my run and figure out the distance (I figured it would be around 5-6 miles) on MapMyRun when I got home.  I wanted to focus on my running form, having been inspired by Born to Run (I’m almost done with the book!).

Proper running technique involves shorter strides, faster leg turnover, and landing on the ball of the foot with knees slightly bent to absorb the shock.  All this I more or less knew before, but what I didn’t realize that running this way forces you to push off with your calves to propel yourself forward! My calves really got a workout this morning, and I thought they were pretty muscular to begin with!

I ran without music and focused on running with good “endurance running” form, and before I knew it, I was back home.  The run had felt relatively easy, so I figured I had run 5.5 miles about a 10:00 pace.watch3

To my surprise, it was more like six miles when I looked up the route! I think focusing on proper running technique will help me to be able to run comfortably and maybe faster for long periods of time and hopefully decrease chances of injury.  That’ll be my running focus this summer!

Do you ever think about or work on your running form/ technique?

What’s the worst fortune cookie saying you’ve gotten?

3 thoughts on “Proper Endurance Running Form

  1. DistrictSweats

    That Trader Joe’s bar looks amazing! In fact, I’m going to have to make some oatmeal-chocolate chip concoction tonight just to satisfy my craving tonight.

  2. Pingback: A Week of Eats | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

