A Week of Eats

Friday’s Workout

-AM: 3 mile tempo run

-PM: Circuit Workout (this one, by Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers) and Body Flow

I took my tempo run outside yesterday! It was fun doing my speedwork outside for once – I’m starting to really dislike running on the treadmill.  Unfortunately, I have two HUGE blisters on the insides of my feet, near the big toes :( I’m pretty sure it’s from changing my running form, and I’m wondering whether I should stop trying to change and go back to my old, blister-less running ways, or give it another few weeks? At any rate, I won’t be running today to give the blisters a rest day :)

shoe shot

Here’s what I ate this week!

week of eats

Breakfast A strawberry version of Banana Baked Oatmeal! This was okay, but I found myself adding honey when I heated it up for breakfast each morning.  If you make this, I suggest mixing in some brown sugar or honey into the batter.

strawberry oatmeal

Lunch I finished off my Roasted Veggie Buddha Bowls from last week, and I have a recipe for the Spicy Peanut Sauce to share with you! It’s a thick, savory sauce that would go well on any roasted veggies or even in a stir-fry.  I mixed it in a dish with quinoa, roasted chickpeas, cauliflower, and broccoli.  Mm!

roasted buddha bowl

063

Mix together
– 3 T peanut butter
– 1 T coconut oil
– 1/2 T honey
– 1 T rice wine vinegar (can use other vinegars too, just not balsamic)
– 1/4 t ginger powder
– 1 t red pepper flakes (probably can substitute shiracha, if that’s what you have)

Tada! Yummy, spicy peanut-ty sauce.

spicy peanut sauce

After my Buddha bowls were gone, I roasted up some TJ’s Broccoli Slaw with olive oil, salt and pepper for about 10 min, and added TJ’s Pulled Chicken Breast in BBQ sauce and continued roasting for another 15 min.

Broccoli Slaw Pulled chicken breast roasted slaw

I rolled up the mixture in tortillas with some avocado on top! Delicious :)

Dinner We had a lot of shakes this week.  I’ve posted all those pictures in posts already, so I’ll spare you! I also reached into the freezer and finished off the last of my black bean burgers.

black bean burger

Snacks This was a great snack week! I had cherry tomatoes dipped in BBQ sauce (try it, it’s delicious!!), sliced up apples, yogurt with berries, hard boiled eggs as always.  Lots of popcorn, chocolate chia pudding, and some Trader Joe’s Greek Frozen Yogurt.  Not as good as Stonyfield, IMHO.

snacks snacks chocolate chia pudding popcorn trader joe's frozen greek yogurt

 

Well, that’s it from me! Hope you have a great weekend and find some healthy eating inspiration!

3 thoughts on “A Week of Eats

  1. Pingback: Friday Week of Eats + a New PR | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

