I Made Running Friends!

Tuesday’s Workout

– AM Body Combat class at gym
– PM ~5 miles outside, 3 with club

Guys, I think I have a Body Combat addiction.  I usually switch up my gym classes and never go to the same ones because my schedule is always different, but this marks the third week in a row that I’ve been to Body Combat! Something about all that punching and kicking is mighty satisfying.

I needed a lot of help getting out the door yesterday evening for my run.  It came in the form of:

a VitaMelt Energy tablet (sample pack from a drugstore.com order) – I don’t know how much it actually helped, but I got out the door, didn’t I? It’s also tasty vitamelt 

and a gnu Foods Chocolate Brownie Bar, from my KlutchClub box! Review of the box coming soon, I promise :) I loved the bar, but wouldn’t eat it again as a pre-run snack due to high fiber content – 50% of your daily requirement! It wasn’t a problem yesterday, but I could see that causing problems on a long run (no pun intended).

gnu foods

I had an instant answer to prayer yesterday.  I sent up a quick prayer to God that I would meet a friend during my run with the Shirlington Runners Club; even though I’ve gone a handful of times, I’ve only gotten to talk to someone once, and then she moved away from the area.  So even though I was with a group, I still felt like I was mostly running alone.  Anyway, during my run, a girl started running next to me.  I figured she wanted to pass, so I slowed down a little, but she slowed down with me.  We ended up chatting and pacing each other, and another guy started running behind us too, so we had a little pace group going. With these new friends pushing me, I ended up running my fastest three (or 2.79) miles ever!

garmin

An answer to prayer, new friends, a great run? I was so glad I didn’t skip my run last night! It really helps me to read running and fitness blogs because they get me all fired up to work out! If you’re in need of some inspiration today, check out the links below!

Running Inspiration
9 Ways to Make This Week a Great Running Week from Hungry Runner Girl
Run for Kids Challenge 50K Recap from Yo Momma Runs – makes me want to try a trail race!
Fartlek Training from Fit for a year

Workouts to Try
Drop It Like It’s Hot Circuit Workout from Tina Reale
Barre Burner (complete with video!) from Fitnessista

Something to Buy
Klutch Club Box Review from Peace Love & Oats – I’ll be posting one too, but mine’s a different box :)
Chick’d Apparel from Olive to Run

Mess Around in the Kitchen
Nuttzo Balls from STUFT Mama
Sticky Honey Soy Pork Chops from Running to the Kitchen
Almond Butter Stuffed Vanilla Coconut French Toast from Fannetastic Food – I just need to find some bread to make this!

My running inspiration today? I have a pair of new sneakers from Running Warehouse waiting for me in the mail room! I can’t wait to try on my first pair of Saucony Kinvaras – hope I love them as much as I do my Cortanas :)

Leave a Reply

