I’m Starting the Whole30!

Happy Monday, everyone! I’m finally starting the Whole30 today…

Why I’m Doing the Whole30

A few months ago, I started getting digestive upset pretty regularly; around 2-3 PM like clockwork, my stomach would get bloated and I’d be uncomfortable for the rest of the day.  I’ve tried eliminating different foods,taking probiotics, digestive enzymes, all with little effect.  A month ago, I started reading about the Whole30 cleanse because I saw testimonies about how it got rid of bloating and digestive problems and helped “reset” the digestive system –   Ashley at RatherBeRunnin’ also did a Whole30 and saw some positive results – congrats Ashley!

I’m a scientific person, and I like facts and research papers.  But when it comes to diets and cleanses, I’m sort of a sucker for a good testimonial – it worked for them, it might work for me!  And after trying several things and seeing no change in my condition, I decided it couldn’t hurt to do a healthy “cleanse”/ elimination diet for 30 days.

What is the Whole30?

Whole30 is basically an elimination diet based off of the popular Paleo diet that you do for 30 days.  While the point of the Paleo diet is to eat only what our ancestors ate (think caveman food), the Whole30 is more health-focused – it eliminates foods that trigger an inflammatory response, slow down your metabolism. or are straight up bad for you.  Whole30 encourages consumption of meat, veggies, fruits and nuts and avoidance of grains (including pseudo-grains like quinoa), dairy (no yogurt!!), sugar – artificial or natural except what’s naturally present in fruit  (no honey, maple sugar), alcohol, legumes (no soy or peanut butter) and a few harmful compounds like added sulfites, MSG, carageenan.  Melissa and Dallas, creators of the Whole30, go into great detail on their website on what’s in and what’s out.

I’ll be sticking closely to the diet; I don’t think there’s anything wrong with Greek yogurt or whole grains, but I’d like to give this program a chance to fix my problems.  And I’m always up to try something new :)

Whole30 Claims + My Expectations

Like any diet, the claimed benefits are all over the place – curing infertility, ADD, and Lyme’s disease are some of the wilder ones (in my opinion.  But it does make sense to me that reducing the body’s dependence on added sugars and carbs could result in changed body composition and possibly energy levels.  So here’s what I’m hoping for:

1. Reduced digestive upset/ bloating

2. Weight loss would be nice, but I’m primarily hoping for visible changes in body composition

3. Greater energy? I’ll take it!!

4. I’m hoping these 30 days of very different eating will help me to re-think my relationship with food and nourishment and end my weekends of mindless noshing.  I’m open to staying Paleo and continuing rely on mostly meats/veggies/fruits/nuts for my nutrition at the end of the 30 days if I see positive results throughou the month.

My plan, blog-wise, is to post my food shopping list and what I’m cooking at the beginning of each week, and then a normal “Week of Eats” post at the end of the week where I’ll review the different recipes I made.  Other than that, I’ll just note my mood each day so you can see which part of the Whole30 timeline I’m in, and I’ll post some of my stats at the end of each week to show whether the diet has had any physical effect so far.

timeline-header

I’ll be back shortly with my first Whole30 Food Shopping post! Let me know if there’s anything else you’d like me to talk about regarding my Whole30 endeavor – I’m hoping this will be useful for others considering a Whole30 cleanse or something similar. 

7 thoughts on “I’m Starting the Whole30!

  1. Good luck! I have heard some very positive results about this 30 day cleanse. Something similar (which you might want to look into) is called the Virgin Diet. My mom swears by it! It eliminates the seven foods that are considered to be the most allergy prone (peanuts, eggs, gluten, sugar, corn, soy, and dairy) for three weeks and gradually reintroducing them to find what may (or may not) trigger an allergy. My mom found that she was allergic to dairy which prevented her from losing weight and caused digestive problems. I am eager to hear how it works for you!!

    1. Dawn H.

      Ani, thanks for the information! That sounds really similar to the Whole30. So far, I’ve found that my digestive problems are gone after just 1 day. I have a feeling I’m going to lose weight pretty easily as well. I’m smacking myself for not starting this sooner :)

    2. That’s the most important thing, that you’re feeling better! And my mom dropped seven pounds in seven days after starting the cleanse. After the first week that dramatic loss tapers, but it is just getting rid of all the impurities in your body I guess!

  2. I have gone through the same digestive/stomach issues. Currently am and have tried a number of different antibiotics to help the situation – although I truly feel it all relates back to our diet and what foods trigger these symptoms.

    Let me know how this goes for you!

  3. I started the Whole30 June 1st. I am doing it for the same reason you are!! Not really a weight loss thing but to heal up my poor stomach. I have been having problems for YEARS!! All I have heard is the dreaded IBS diagnosis, so frustrating! I am on day 5 now, it’s been rough but I’m hoping it gets better! Good Luck!

    1. Dawn H.

      Good luck to you as well! I hope it works for you and your stomach troubles stop. It must have been so frustrating to live like that for years (just a couple months made me desperate!). I’m looking forward to the “Tiger Blood” phase :)

  4. Pingback: A Whole30 Week of Eats | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

