Whole30 Week 1 Prep + Cooking

The Meal Plan

So…no yogurt, no oatmeal, no chocolate.  What’s a girl to eat?? Lots of stuff, apparently.  I found a bunch of recipes by googling “Whole30 recipes” and “Whole30 breakfasts”, and there are tons of beautiful blogs devoted to Paleo eating and Whole30.  So this is what I’ll be making and eating this week from recipes collected around the web:

BreakfastSweet and Savory Quiche, Sweet Potato Hash with Egg on weekends

LunchTuna and Avocado Wraps

Dinner – chicken sausage, cauliflower rice, and salad with balsamic vinegar/olive oil

Snacks – Larabars (the ones with no chocolate or peanuts), fruit, nuts, applesauce

Hunting and Gathering

Here’s what was on my shopping list this week:

Meats: two packages of sausage, 1 lb ground beef, 4 cans tuna fish, eggs

Veggies: garlic, onions, sweet potatoes, cauliflower, avocados, a jalepeno.  Bagged baby spinach and salad

Fruits and Nuts: almonds, dried dates, bananas, apples, strawberries, a lime, and grape tomatoes

Drinks: V8 Juice, almond milk

Minimally Processed Foods: chicken broth, Tessamae’s BBQ sauce, coconut aminos, ghee (clarified butter), sunflower butter, Blueberry Muffin and Cappuccino Larabars

Food shopping took longer than usual this week, because I had to keep checking labels on processed foods to make sure there weren’t any banned ingredients.  Some surprises (good and bad):

1. Bad – Most canned tuna has soy! I found only two cans at my local Harris Teeter that did not: tuna

2. Bad – It was hard to find chicken broth without sugar.  I checked all the labels and bought Rachael Ray’s chicken stock.

3. Bad – I already knew that most unsweetened almond milk varieties contain carageenan, a carcinogen and therefore banned from the Whole30.  I was able to buy Silk Almond Milk. almond milk and chicken stock 

4. Bad – I didn’t expect to have such a hard time buying chicken sausage at Whole Foods, but most of the products contained some sort of cheese or sugar.  I found only two without forbidden ingredients, both made by Brat Hans. 003

5. Good – I was happy to find Tessemae’s products in stock at my local Whole Foods! These are Whole30 approved sauces and salad dressings.  I bought a bottle of BBQ sauce to sprinkle on everything. tessemae bbq sauce

6. Good – V8 has no added sugar.  Score for me, since I love tomato juice. v8

I spent a total of $103 at Harris Teeter and Whole Foods; I expect next week’s bill to be a little less since I had to get some cooking supplies this week that I can use throughout the month. whole30 day1

So far so good! I should be hitting the Hangover phase tomorrow…

8 thoughts on “Whole30 Week 1 Prep + Cooking

    1. Dawn H.

      Oo I’ll have to look for that in the store (or mix it myself) – that would be fabulous in coffee, I bet!

    1. Dawn H.

      Thanks Emily! I hope it was helpful; I’ll be posting my shopping list/ what I’m making for the next few weeks for those interested in possibly starting Paleo/ Whole30!

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Week 2 Prep + Cooking | sneaker∙therapy

  2. Pingback: Whole30 Week 4 Prep + Cooking | sneaker∙therapy

    1. Dawn H.

      Hey Traci,
      If I remember correctly, juice is discouraged (they’d rather you eat the veggies/ fruits whole and get the fiber and other benefits), but not strictly forbidden, as long as it doesn’t contain added sugar or forbidden ingredients like sulfites. Thanks for stopping by!
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

