Week 3 Prep and Cooking

Morning Workout

– 5 mile run outside, 4 miles at tempo

The Meal Plan

I continue to be amazed at all the creativity and variety of Paleo and Whole30 recipes out there! If nothing else, this cleanse/challenge has definitely expanded my recipe library and helped me to enjoy meats/ vegetables in so many different ways.  Here’s what I’m making this week:

Breakfast: Banana Chia Pudding – a nice change from all the eggs I’ve been eating.  I like the idea of using banana and dates for a little natural sweetness.

Lunch: Cream of Broccoli Soup from NomNomPaleo – looks chock full of veggies! I’ll be shredding the chicken from last week and adding it to the soup for some protein.

Dinner: Steak/ tuna salads – just throw in whatever’s in the fridge

Snacks: The usual suspects like fruit, nuts, and these Lemon “Larabars”

Food Shopping

I had hoped to have a pretty low grocery bill this week, but we ended up going to Whole Foods to pick up some seafood, so I just did my food shopping there.  The higher prices and some “impulse” buys like the canned salmon, more larabars and stuff from the bulk bins led to a higher than anticipated grocery bill!

Meat: steak, canned salmon

Veggies: bagged spinach, bagged salad, leeks, broccoli crowns, avocados

Fruit: strawberries, bananas, figs, a lemon, dates

Nuts: cashews

Drinks: coconut water

Minimally Processed Foods: coconut rolled dates, larabars

Total: $60.34

At least the coconut water was on sale.  I bought Zico this time – tastes great, has a slightly funny smell to me.

coconut water

And these are the coconut rolled dates that I can’t stop snacking on, from the bulk bins.  With just two ingredients, I can make these myself next time ;)

coconut rolled dates

Halfway There – Check-in

I’m at Day 16 and more than halfway done with the Whole30.  Some physical changes I’ve noticed:

– My digestive system was better from Day 1.  No more uncomfortable bloating around 2 pm – what am I allergic to??

No more sugar crashes.  My blood glucose level feels steady, even when I have to go more than a few hours between meal/snacks.

I look leaner and my pants fit better (I’ll do some before/after stats when the challenge is over)

Psychologically, I’m learning a lot about why I eat (other than because I’m hungry) – I eat when I’m bored, tired, stressed, or just craving something to munch on.  It’s hard re-training my brain to eat only when I’m hungry, but the Whole30 has helped a lot with that because I generally don’t want to munch on veggies, or I’ll eat some nuts and dried fruit and realize I’m full and don’t want to eat anymore.  I’m learning that I don’t need to eat all the time!

What wonderful things are you cooking this week?

3 thoughts on “Week 3 Prep and Cooking

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Week 4 Prep + Cooking | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

