Homemade Roasted Nut Butter

Happy Birthday Sister J!

I love you very much!  Also, this is the most attractive picture I could find of us (sorry, brother T).

me j and t

Yea, we’re pretty aborable.  And weird.

Homemade Hazelnut Butter (aka Paleo Crack)

I bought a huge bag of hazelnuts on a recent trip to Costco, because they are one of the higher “rated” nuts by the Whole30 folks in terms of nutritional value.

hazelnuts

Only to find out the hard way on the car ride home that I am allergic to them, thanks to my Oral Allergy Syndrome.  I am mildly allergic to many fuzzy fruits and nuts – they make my mouth and throat itchy – but hazelnuts produced one of the severest/ most unpleasant reactions I’ve had! So what to do with the huge bag of hazelnuts??

I decided to try roasting them, because sometimes that’s enough to make a “trigger  food” edible for me.  Thankfully, that was the case with these :) After 10 minutes in the oven, they were toasty and delicious.  I nibbled on a few and decided to try my hand at hazelnut butter. I forgot to take pictures, but this is really easy.  I definitely recommend making it in a food processor instead of a blender; the mixture didn’t get past a wet, grainy powder in the Ninja, but it turned creamy within minutes in the food processor with the regular blade!

hazelnut butter  hazelnut butter

I mixed the roasted nuts with some salt and lots of cinnamon for a little sweetness.  I also mixed a portion with unsweetened cocoa powder for my Whole30 version of nutella ;) It isn’t sweet, but the richness of the nuts is so delicious.  I can’t wait to try making this with all sorts of nuts and mixtures of roasted nuts.  Now the challenge is to not eat the whole batch in one sitting…

2 thoughts on “Homemade Roasted Nut Butter

Leave a Reply

