Knee Injury Update + Last Whole30 Week of Eats

Update on the Knee Injury

I went to see an orthopedist about my knee on Friday.  I was starting to get worried since it had been nearly two weeks since I fell, and it felt like my knee was getting worse since it sometimes hurt while just walking.  I wasn’t sure whether I should be doing any activity at all (cycling, elliptical), how I should be treating it (ice, heat, aspirin?), and how long I’d be side-lined from running.  I was most anxious about the last question – I figured if I had to take anything more than a month off, my October marathon was probably not going to happen (I’d switch it to a half).

Anyway, Dr. Sumida at Commonwealth Orthopaedics was able to fit me in for an afternoon appointment, so I went for some answers to my questions.  A few x-rays and a physical exam later, Dr. Sumida reassured me that I’d be fine for my fall marathon! My knee isn’t injured, but I did manage to bruise a bone.  He recommended ice, some heavy-duty aspirin, and said I wouldn’t be able to run for about three weeks.  I can do elliptical, cycling, and pool running to keep up my fitness.  At this point, I’m just grateful that it isn’t more serious and I’m looking forward to doing some intense workouts again.

As soon as I got home, I ordered a pool running belt (I got the women’s Aquajogger)

aquajogger

Yea.  I’m going to look mega-sexy wearing that belt around my waist ;)

Whole30 Week of Eats #4

Holy cow, I can’t believe I’m on day 28! Only two more days to go.  You’d think that it would get easier the longer I’ve been doing it, but yesterday, we went to see Man of Steel (which I thought was okay, but rather long and overly dramatic) and I was THIS CLOSE to getting popcorn.  And then Mike went to pick up some Thai food for himself for dinner and I desperately wanted Pad See Ew.  I don’t think there’s any magic in getting to 30 days vice 27, but once I decide to do something, I like to stick to it, so here we are – day 28 :) Here’s what I made and ate this week.

Breakfast

I tried making Sweet Potato Bites (essentially mashed sweet potato mixed with egg whites) – these were just okay for me.  I think I would have liked it more with some more veggies like broccoli and mushrooms.  I ate these with roasted zucchini and portabello mushrooms and a hard boiled egg for some extra protein.

016  017  007  006

Lunch

Lunch was another NomNomPaleo success: Cauliflower Fried Rice.  The coconut aminos make this dish! I used ground beef for my protein, and added some chopped up sesame leaves for added flavor – SO GOOD.

cauliflower fried rice  012

 

This dish was super easy and filling.  I paired it with a piece of fruit and a few cashews for a filling lunch.

Dinner

I made another NomNomPaleo dish – Steak Skewers with Cherry BBQ Sauce – wow, I could eat this BBQ sauce all day.  We don’t have a grill on our balcony, so I broiled these in the oven…subsequently setting off the fire alarm =\ I paired the steak skewers with salads and these amazing Mashed Sweet Potatoes.  I’ll be making these again, but maybe subbing out the Herbs de Provence for paprika, since I found the floral flavor a little overpowering.

003  014  014 (2)  006 (2)

More tuna salad another night! Such an easy weeknight meal.  Andrew supplied us with a can of Wild Planet Tuna, because we hadn’t tried it before but read all the rave reviews – we’re going to have to make a trip to Costco to stock up on these! It was far more flavorful and fresh tasting than regular tuna.  My tuna salad “secret” ingredient: Tabasco. That stuff goes with everything.

wild planet tuna  018

 

What did you make this week?

Do you like canned tuna? What ingredient do you love to add to your tuna salad?

7 thoughts on “Knee Injury Update + Last Whole30 Week of Eats

  1. Sister J

    Glad your doc’s visit went okay! I’m steadily munching my way through the gift box you gave me, btw. So delish :). Also, Whole 30 went by so fast!!! WHERE HAS JUNE GONE?!?

  2. Pingback: Marathon #2 Training Plan! | sneaker∙therapy

  3. Pingback: ITBS Treatment + Vegas | sneaker∙therapy

  4. Pingback: Cross-Training & Running: Get Faster, Leaner, And More Flexible | candies & crunches

Leave a Reply

