I’m Back!! And Two Paleo Dressing Recipes

I’m Back, Baby!

Remember that deep knee bruise I got when I fell while running a few weeks ago? Of course you do, I’ve only mentioned it a hundred times on this blog.  Well, after taking a good three weeks off from running, I’m BACK! I can’t tell you how good it feels; I sort of forgot how much I loved running and the immediate endorphin rush I get from running that somehow isn’t the same when I cycle or do any other kind of activity (not that I don’t love cycling!).  Anyway, after a solid 3 weeks of no running, the plan this week is as follows:

Monday: 3 miles – done!

Tuesday: 5 miles – done!

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: 3 miles – done!

Friday: 5 miles

Saturday: 12 miles

Sunday: Cross train

No speed work this week (I’m pretty slow right now anyway).  If this week goes well, then it’ll be easy to switch to Hal Higdon’s Intermediate 1 plan (from the Intermediate 2), which has a lower mileage and builds to 20 miles twice instead of three times.   Three weeks of no training means that I lost some time to build mileage, so this is my way to safely increase my mileage (no more than 10-15% increase each week) and still train for the marathon in October!

Paleo Salad Dressings

With the summer in full swing, we’ve been eating tons of salads! But now that I’m eating paleo, I don’t use most bottled salad dressings since they contain sugar and oils that aren’t on the diet.  While most days I’m happy with a simple balsamic vinegar and olive oil drizzle, sometimes I want a little variety too :) For our BBQ last weekend, I made a Carrot Ginger dressing, which was a huge hit! It’s slightly sweet and full of zingy flavor from the ginger and vinegar.  And this week, I was craving a soy-based dressing (you could substitute coconut aminos for strict Paleo), so I made a spicy sweet salad dressing, which was amazing!! Both of these tasty Asian salad dressings will be regulars in the salad dressing rotation in our house :) The best part is that they take less than 5 minutes to make.

Carrot Ginger Dressing

I used this recipe here and used light olive oil for the oil.  I didn’t change a thing, but here it is, retyped for your convenience!

Ingredients:

3 medium carrots, peeled

1/4 c peeled ginger (I used about 3 inches)

2 T chopped onion

1/4 c rice vinegar (you could use other vinegar too)

1 T sesame oil (do not sub for another oil, sesame gives it that Asian taste)

1 T soy sauce/ coconut aminos/ tamari sauce

pinch of salt

1/2 c olive oil

Directions:

Add all ingredients into a high powered blender and blend! If your blender can’t handle the carrots or ginger, you could use a box grater to break them down a little first.

IMG_2656  carrot ginger dressing

 

This recipe makes a lot of dressing, and it can spruce up the simplest green salad! It has veggies in it too, so you’re getting extra veggies with your veggies :)

Korean Spicy Salad Dressing

You find this sort of dressing a lot at Korean BBQ places; it’s savory and sweet and spicy! If you’re not a fan of spice, you could cut down on the red pepper.

Ingredients:

2 T minced garlic

2 T soy sauce/ tamari/ coconut aminos

2 T rice wine vinegar (you can sub other types of vinegar here, just not something too fruity or sweet)

2 T honey

1 T sesame oil (again, do not sub)

2 T red pepper flakes

1 T sesame seeds

Directions:

Mix it all together in a bowl.  Done.

It doesn’t get easier than that, guys! We’ve been enjoying this dressing with a sort of cabbage slaw – green cabbage, red cabbage, shredded carrot and some sliced scallions.  It’s so refreshing and makes the perfect meal paired with any kind of meat!

cabbage slaw

009

 

What’s your favorite salad dressing?

 

5 thoughts on “I’m Back!! And Two Paleo Dressing Recipes

  1. Pingback: Marathon Training Week 7 + Get a Free KlutchClub Box | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

