Crispy Oven-Baked Sweet Potato Fries!!

I’m not gonna lie, it’s been challenging not eating grains.  Not because I miss them, but because I sometimes can’t get enough calories to support my activity level.  I try to eat a starchy vegetable once a day to add some carbs to my diet, and sweet potatoes have become a staple in the kitchen.  I love them mashed, sauteed, baked, but my favorite way to eat sweet potatoes is as fries! I started making (and eating) oven-baked sweet potato fries during my Whole30 last month, but I could never get them crispy, no matter how long I left them in the oven. They came out of the oven hot but limp, and who likes a limpy fry? Not me.  Limpy = bad.  Get your mind out of the gutter, I’m still talking about the fries.  

Since then, I’ve been on a mission to perfect the sweet potato fry.  After many months weeks of experimenting and googling and batches and batches of fries, one day, a magical batch of fries emerged from the oven, crispy and piping hot! I pretty much did a victory dance in the kitchen.  Read on for a few tips and the recipe!

sweet potato fries

A note: One of the ingredients I use is avocado oil, which I ordered from Amazon.  It’s not cheap, so you can use any oil, but apparently avocado oil is particularly good at getting veggies crispy in the oven.  For those of you who roll with peanuts, I bet peanut oil would do just fine too (I don’t use it because I’m mostly Paleo).

avocado oil

Ingredients:

1 sweet potato

1 T avocado oil

salt + pepper

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425.

2. Peel your sweet potato or scrub it down, and cut it into thick fries (I do about a 1/2 inch thickness).  Soak the fries for a minute in cold water to get rid of some of the starch, then dry them off with a paper towel or kitchen towel.

3. Toss the fries with your choice of oil and season with salt and pepper.

4. Place a wire rack on a baking tray, and spread the fries on the wire rack.  Don’t let the fries touch (they tend to steam each other if they’re touching, and then your fries won’t get crispy).

5. Bake for 30 minutes, flipping the fries and rotating the tray after 15 minutes.

Done.  Plate them with some Paleo (or regular) ketchup and eat them.  These are also great tossed with some paprika or cinnamon before baking.

002

2 thoughts on “Crispy Oven-Baked Sweet Potato Fries!!

Leave a Reply

