Summer Reading #2

Today’s Workout:

– Body Pump class at gym

I finally got my butt to Body Pump – it’s been over a month since I’ve gone! It felt so good to feel my arms burning again.  What’s your favorite cross training activity?

What I’ve Been Reading

I haven’t done any book reviews recently, and I’ve read a few good ones, so I wanted to share! I’ll do some quick summaries :)

flavia de luce
The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag by Alan Bradley (mystery)

This was entertaining – I like the main character Flavia, who is a crazy 11-yr old girl with an advanced working knowledge of chemistry.  She solves mysteries and makes it her mission to make her older sisters miserable.  It’s not much of a mystery though, and I found the plot a little slow – I much prefer Agatha Christie.

haroldfry
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce (fiction)

I absolutely LOVED this book.  It’s the story of an older man, living an ordinary life in the UK, who finds out that a prior coworker of his is now dying of cancer.  He decides that he needs to see her, and he comes to believe that if he makes the journey from his home to her hospital by foot, she will be cured.  The story is heart-warming, occasionally funny, and sometimes sad, but I fell in love with Harold and many of the other characters and felt completely invested in his journey.

The Next Best ThingThe Next Best Thing by Jennifer Weiner (chick lit)

I really liked Good in Bed, so I was excited to read another book by Jennifer, but I didn’t find Ruth as interesting as Cannie – she was kind of a bland character, and the story was kind of ordinary.  It’s good pool-side reading, just not that memorable to me.

What have you been reading lately? 

If you’re looking for more reading inspiration, I have a few more summer reads here!

Leave a Reply

