Healthy (paleo, gluten-free) Summertime Snacks!

Tuesday Workout

-3.75 mile tempo on treadmill (1 mile warm up, followed by 3.75 miles at 8:39 pace)

– Abs workout on the swiss ball

Summertime Snack Ideas

I’ve cut down on my snacking quite a bit since doing the Whole30, but every once in a while, I still get the urge to nosh on something while working or watching TV.  I don’t buy processed “snack packs” much anymore, so I’ve had to come up with some new ideas for snacks; here are a few of my favorites!

1. Homemade Larabars – Larabars are only made with a handful of ingredients, so they’re very easy to make at home! Just toss all the ingredients in a food processor or blender and process/blend until the mixture is very clumpy.  Roll into balls or bars! I like to put my Laraballs into muffin liners and pop them into a Ziploc snack bag or small container for an easy on-the-go snack.  My favorite flavor is lemon (process 12 dates, 1/4 cup almonds, 1/4 cup cashews, juice and rind of a lemon).

laraball

 

I also keep a few real Larabars around for when I’m in a rush and don’t have any other snacks prepared.

004 (7)

2. Unsweetened applesauce – great for curbing a sweet tooth after dinner

3. Coconut water – I find this perfect for hydrating before or after a run! Zola is my favorite brand; it’s sweet with no weird aftertaste.

004

 

4. Berries with coconut cream.  Put a can of coconut milk in the fridge over night, which allows the cream to separate from the water.  Scoop the cream off the top and whip it with a hand mixer with a little bit of vanilla extract and honey.  Delicious and decadent.

coconut cream

 

5. Banana froyo.  ‘Nuff said.

 

 

 

banana froyo

 

6. Dried fruit and nuts – just be sure to drink plenty of water, since this is an especially fibrous snack!

7. Fresh fruit.  The perfect summertime snack.

8. (not so paleo) Plain Chobani with mashed banana – inspired by Banana Chobani, obviously.  Banana is a natural sweetener, but you can also add some honey/ coconut flakes for extra tastiness.

banana chobani

 

What’s your favorite summertime snack? Favorite yogurt mix-ins?

Leave a Reply

