Week 16 Workout Log

Government shutdown.  Congress, get your act together!! That’s all I’m going to say about it.

I think I have a subconscious (or not so subconscious) pattern of going easy on myself the week before a race. If all my races go as well as the Reston Perfect 10 did, I think I’ll stick with it!

Last Week’s Workout Log (Week 16)

workout log week 16

Monday: PM 30 min elliptical

My schedule usually has a short run on Mondays, so I tend to sub these out with cycling or elliptical to reduce my running days to 4 (to save my knees a little bit).

Tuesday: PM 4 miles tempo run outside

I’ve been crushing my speed workouts lately; this was my best tempo run this year! I started with a half mile warmup, and my splits followed like this:

Mile 1 – 8:44

Mile 2 – 8:43

Mile 3 – 8:29

Mile 4 – 8:15!!

I had been aiming for an 8:50 average pace, but I realized that I could do a lot better than that on this day, so I just focused on beating the previous mile’s time.  Average pace: 8:33.

Wednesday: AM 4 miles recovery run outside

I did these easy miles at an average pace of 10:44.

Thursday – Saturday: Rest

Katie was in town, so I decided to take these days off.  We walked around the zoo for 4 hours on Saturday…surely that counts for something ;)

Sunday: AM Reston Perfect 10 (10K)

Race recap here.  I love free race photos!

reston perfect 10

This Week’s Plan (Week 17)

I can’t believe my summer/fall “running season” is nearly over! This is my second to last week of training for a bunch of fall races (2 half marathons and a 10K).  I’m looking forward to taking it easy for a while after the Long Beach Half.  Here’s what’s on my plan this week:

Monday: 3 mile run – subbed 30 min elliptical

Tuesday: 400 Meter Repeats (10 intervals) – did these on the treadmill!

Wednesday: 5 mile recovery run and yoga

Thursday: Rest Day

Friday: 3 mile pace run and rock climbing with my church!

Saturday: 12 mile long run

Sunday: recovery on the bike

I’m really looking forward to rock climbing again; hopefully I’ll pass the belay test at Sportrock *fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

