Going Back to School!

Hey guys!

I really enjoyed putting together my look back post on September, and I learned from The Happiness Project that a good chunk of happiness (for an event) comes from anticipation.  So this is what I’m excited about and anticipating this month :)

1. Trip to Southeast Asia

This is obviously the big one! Tomorrow is my last day of work, and we leave on Friday (for California first, because see #2).  The original impetus for the trip was attending a friend’s wedding in Malaysia (Mike’s a groomsman!) towards the end of the month, but we decided to make a trip of it and visit Singapore and Thailand while we’re over there.  I’m especially excited for our Thailand leg because we’ve signed up for all sorts of adventures, like this Amazing Bike Tour! We like doing outdoors-y activities on our vacations, so I think we’ll have a lot of fun exploring Phuket.  We are traveling close to monsoon season though, so we’re crossing our fingers that it doesn’t rain the whole time…

2. Long Beach Half

Half marathon #3, here I come! I feel pretty confident that I can break 2:00 this time, especially with Mike, his parents and his brother D watching and cheering me on.  Whether or not this happens, I know I’ll have a blast running with 20,000 other runners on a perfect California day.  And I’m excited about Long Beach because it leads to #3 on the list!

long beach marathonsource

3. Meeting a blogger friend!

When I found out that Ashley was also running Long Beach (the full marathon!), I knew I wanted to meet up.  She was a huge encouragement for me when I first started out on WordPress for both blogging and running, and I felt like we had a lot in common – we’re both Christian, have cats, and we both love blogging and running.  So we have plans to meet up at the expo, and I can’t wait to meet her in person :)

4. Going back to school

After five years of no school, I’m excited to start taking some classes again.  I have some potential plans for getting a masters (part-time), and I have some pre-requisites to take! So starting this month, I’ll be learning my first programming language.  I’m kind of a nerd, so I’m really looking forward to going to (or watching online, in my case) lectures, taking notes, and taking tests – which I strangely love – again.  Time to break out the graphing calculator!  Hopefully I don’t turn into this:

memesource

5. Running with a buddy

Alexa and I decided to be running buddies, and we’re going on our first run today! I’ve run with a group before but never with a friend so I’m looking forward to it.  I have a feeling that the time will just fly by.

What are you looking forward to this month? Ooo, I left Pumpkin Spice Lattes off my list, they just make me feel like fall :) Any other PSL lovers out there?

Leave a Reply

