Lucy Turns 9 + Korean Pork Cutlets (Easy)

Lucy Turns 9!

We got Lucy in the fall of 2009 because our other cat Buster seemed lonely.  And I wanted another cat.  So how do you pick out a good cat? Well, I knew that I wanted a cuddly lap cat, and we weren’t ready for kittens.  So when we got to the shelter, we picked out a few friendly-looking cats to interact with, and when Lucy walked into the room, she jumped straight onto my lap and started purring.  I decided on the spot that she was coming home with us!

Unfortunately for Lucy, her birthday always coincides with her vet visit, which is her least favorite place in the world.  I feel bad for the vets, because as one of them told me, they get into the business because they love animals, but the animals aren’t very happy to see them! Maybe dogs do better?

588 592 593Her routine when she gets to the vet is to hide her face somewhere, so that no one can find her.  This time, she tucked her face into the crook of my arm! So cute.

Happy birthday to my little furry rug of a cat!

038Korean/Japanese Pork Cutlets (Donkatsu)

I wanted to share another Korean recipe with you (I think it’s actually Japanese in origin) – this one is a staple for weeknight dinners at our house! I know that it can often be intimidating to cook “international” cuisine, especially if it’s something that you didn’t grow up eating, but this dish is SO easy and delicious, I promise!

069Here’s what you need to gather:

– 4-5 pork cutlets (thinner is better)

– two eggs

– flour

– panko breadcrumbs (you can find this in the Asian aisle of a supermarket, usually near the soy sauce and such, or online, like here)

062

Steps:

1. Crack your eggs into a bowl and give them a good whisking.  Place some flour in another bowl, and panko in a third bowl.  I’d start out with about half a cup of flour, and 3/4 cup panko – you can always add more.

2. Pound the pork cutlets with a meat mallet to make them a little thinner – the thinner they are, the easier they are to cook all the way through! You can also try a rolling pin for this step.  Salt and pepper each side.

3. Heat up a large frying pan on medium-high heat with enough oil to cover the bottom.

3. Now the dipping: dip the pork cutlets first in the flour, making sure they are coated all the way around and shake off the excess flour.  Dip them next in the egg, letting the excess egg drip off, and then roll in the panko! I like to use a plastic glove for this step to keep my hands clean.

064 065 066

 

 

4. Place the coated cutlets into the frying pan.  Depending on how thick your cutlet is, it can take between 4-8 minutes per side.  If you find the outside starting to burn, turn the heat down a little, or finish them off in the oven.  If I’m feeling lazy and they’re still pink in the middle when I cut one open, I’ll just pop them into the microwave for a minute or two.

5. Eat! You can eat them with Katsu sauce (we got ours at the Asian grocer’s market in the soy sauce aisle), with ketchup or bbq sauce, or just plain.

068 069Let me know if you try this recipe or have any questions! Happy Friday :)

Any exciting plans for the long weekend? I’ll be running with my group Saturday morning, volunteering at a senior living facility in the afternoon, hanging out with some friends, and hopefully making it to a barre class on Sunday!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Lucy Turns 9 + Korean Pork Cutlets (Easy)

    1. Dawn H.

      LOLZ well, we only interacted with her, and we didn’t know at the time that she’d be a one-person cat…

  1. Pingback: How to Ease into Cooking Korean Cuisine | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

