Back To It!

Hey guys,

After three LAZY weeks, I decided it was time to get off the couch and go for a run. I went for my first run back on Tuesday and opted for an easy three miles; to my surprise, my legs were sore the next day! It’s amazing (and a little discouraging) how quickly the body loses fitness.  The good news is that I had a great first week of training, and my body is well rested and ready to work this winter.  I think my legs will be back in no time! Here’s how my first week back went:

workout log 4nov13Monday: rest.  The cats convinced me to stay inside.  What blerches.

Tuesday: easy 3 mile run outside (9:54 pace) and plank workout on Skimble.  I had to dig through my closet to find my cold weather running gear!

Wednesday: 6 x 800 meters on treadmill.  Started with a half mile warmup, then completed intervals from a 6.7-6.9 treadmill pace, with a 400 meter recovery jog in between each.  This was a tough workout for me, but I finished it! I’ll be added more intervals as I get stronger.

Thursday: Body Flow class at the gym.  I really got into the tai chi portion this time, digging into my Asian roots :)

Friday: 4 mile pace run outside (8:42 pace) and Body Pump class afterwards at the gym.  Body Pump was doubly challenging as it was done after a challenging run and I hadn’t lifted weights in oh…two months?? I ended up doing the shoulder track with 2.5 lb weights, lol – probably a new low for me.  Hopefully I’ll get stronger if I start going each week! I used to squat with 50 lbs back in the day (hopefully that sounds impressive, if not add another zero at the end).

Saturday: Legs still sore from Body Pump.  Unplanned rest day.

Sunday: 6 mile easy pace run outside (9:29 pace).  My legs were still sore, but I tried to think about other stuff, and before I knew it the run was done.  I love having 6 miles as my weekend “long run”! I also did a round of foot strengthening exercises (more on that to come).

Overall, I completed all the runs on my training plan and did 2 core workouts (I’m counting Body Pump as one, since my abs were sore afterwards) and 1 foot strengthening workout, so I’m really pleased.  This week coming up is a busy one, so I’m hoping I manage to squeeze everything in again.  And finally:

Let’s Honor Our Veterans

courage-postersource

Without the sacrifice of many, we would not be able to enjoy our freedom and peace at home today.  Ever since I started interacting with military folks at work, I gained a new appreciation for their service and their love of country.  My father was also a veteran and served in the U.S. Army in his youth.  If you’re looking for some ways to help,  my sister published a great post on one small way to be of service to our soldiers overseas.

Any other ideas for how to support our troops? I’m especially looking for ideas for ways to help around Christmastime!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Back To It!

  1. DistrictSweats

    You’re so right about the body losing fitness quickly. I’m easing back into running after injury. Today I did 2 miles and was wheezing by the end! Oof, back to work.

Leave a Reply

