CB10 Lottery Open + Deals and Steals

Deals on Stuff and Races

I save all my winter running clothing shopping for Cyber Monday.  Quality running clothes are not cheap, and I’m all in favor of saving money AND not needing to schlep my lazy self to the store. You can get some great deals online around this time.  If you missed all the fun of Cyber Monday, not to worry – lots of stores are still offering great deals online!

Sports Authority – $20 off $100 (till Saturday) and free shipping.  They’re also having a 40% off sale on New Balance apparel right now – how cute is this jacket?

new balancesource

Dick’s Sporting Goods – Running Cyber Week deals all week long.  They have a special section for “Running Enthusiast” wear, and I was stoked to see the vest I’ve been eyeing for 30% off!

Running Warehouse – Great Cyber Monday deals end on December 4 at midnight (eastern time).  By far my favorite online running store – they have very reasonable prices, free two day shipping, free return shipping, and you can return stuff within 90 days even if you’ve tried it out! I bought a bunch of winter running clothes here last year on Cyber Monday, and they also have deals on some sneakers.

City Sports – 30% off almost everything online, including sales and clearance with the code “CYBER30”, and free shipping over $75.  There are a lot of brands not eligible for the code though, so check the fine print – I went to buy a pair of The North Face winter running tights and found that the code didn’t work.

DSW – Not quite running related, but they have a great deal going on – $15 off $74, $30 off $149, or $50 off $199.  They do have a selection of running sneakers (pretty limited IMO – lots of New Balance and ASICS though), and tons of cute, affordable cross-training sneakers! If I ever do cross-training regularly semi-regularly, I’ll be picking up a pair here.  In the meantime, I’m on the hunt for the perfect, comfortable loafer.  Something like these?

sophie loafersource

Also, the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler lottery opened this week! The race is extremely popular and limited to 15,000 runners, so they conduct their registration through a lottery.  It’s open till December 13, and you find out on December 17 if you got in.  If you don’t get in, you can sign up to be a race volunteer for guaranteed race entry the year after – that’s what I did in 2012 to run the race in 2013.  I loved the the beautiful course and the energy of the huge race so I entered the lottery this year! Fingers crossed for Dec 17 :)

If you want to run a Rock ‘n’ Roll race next year, sign up on the 13th of December for $13 off your registration fee.  They’ve been running the promotion all year ($13 off on the 13th of each month) and December is the last month to take advantage of it! I’ll be running the Rock ‘n’ Roll USA half (held in DC) in March.

Weekly Workout Log (Step-Back Week)

I made this week a bit of a step-back in mileage, since I knew we’d be traveling to NY for Thanksgiving and I wanted to give my body a little rest.  I still got all my runs in, although I changed up the days a little bit from my plan.workout log 25nov13

Monday: Usual Power Yoga class at gym.  After doing yoga for four weeks in a row now, that first downward dog of the class is getting easier! Pigeon pose is a different story.

Tuesday: Body Combat class at gym, followed by 3 miles of intervals (800 meters, 400 meter recovery in between) on the treadmill.  I wanted to throw up by the end, and ended up cutting the workout from 4 miles to 3.

Wednesday: Rest/ travel day.  Moved my planned run to Thursday.

Thursday: 4 miles outside in NY! This was supposed to be a tempo run, but I ended up slowing to a 9:40 pace thanks to the 15+ mph winds, 17 degree weather, and hills.  So many hills.  I also got in some core work and a foot strengthening session.

Friday: Another 5 miles of hill training in NY.  It was warmer with no wind, and I managed a 9:28 pace.

Saturday: I woke up with no motivation to run any more hills, and moved my planned run to Sunday.

Sunday: I sort of expected to skip this run after six hours in the car back to Virginia, but when we got out of the car, the weather was perfect and I was in the mood to exercise! I got in a great 7 mile run with a fast 4 mile tempo in the middle.  My legs felt really strong after the hill work earlier in the week!

I ended up with 19 miles, and I skipped out on my second core work/ foot strengthening session.  Oh well, I’ll try to do better on that front this week as I ramp up to 5 running days!

How many days do you usually run a week? Usually 4, but I’m gonna try for 5 this training cycle.

Do any Cyber Monday shopping?

2 thoughts on “CB10 Lottery Open + Deals and Steals

Leave a Reply

