My First Stitchfix Shipment!

Happy Thursday everyone! I found an exciting package in the mail when we got back from our Thanksgiving weekend in New York…DSC01233My first Stitchfix shipment! Stitchfix is a personal styling service, where you fill out a style questionnaire online and a stylist picks five pieces for you (clothing and accessories) and sends them to you in the mail.  You pay $20 for the service, and whatever you decide to keep is then discounted by $20.  You send back the rest in the mail in a pre-paid shipping envelope.  Most of the items are around the $40-60 price point, although you can let them know what range you’re looking for.  If you choose to buy all five items, you get a 25% discount on everything!

I decided to try Stitchfix because I felt that my style had gotten very boring and I kept buying and wearing the same two or three items in different colors.  My casual wardrobe consists almost entirely of t-shirts and jeans (and running clothes), and there’s little variety in the outfits I wear to work.  I thought that Stitchfix might help me try styles that I wouldn’t have tried out on my own!

My first impression of the box was that the inside packaging was so cute! Everything was packaged neatly in tissue paper, with a ribbon around it.  I also thought the printing on the inside of the box was a nice touch – it’s clear they put a lot of thought into their design.DSC01234Here’s what I got in the box:

1. THML Barbara Bow Detail Long Sleeve Sweater – $48

I liked the cute design of the sweater, but it was a little too tight for me.  I put it in the return envelope right away.

stitchfix5

2. Just Black Tianna Skinny Jean – $68

I loved the stretchy and comfortable fit of this jean, but found that it wrinkled up too much on my legs, especially around my substantial calves.  I hemmed and hawed over this one, but ultimately sent it back.

stitchfix13. 41Hawthorn Filbert 3/4 Sleeve Popover Blouse – $58

I absolutely LOVED this top as soon as I put it on! I never would have thought to try it on if I had seen it in a store, but I found that this flowy piece really suited my figure.  It goes well with jeans or tucked into a skirt for work.  Keeper!

stitchfix34. 41Hawthorn Colibri Solid Tab Long Sleeve Blouse – $48

Surprisingly, although this is made by the same company, I didn’t love this long sleeve shirt.  I felt like my body was completely lost in it.stitchfix45. Renee C Enrique French Terry Fit & Flare Dress – $58

This was such a cute dress, but I didn’t feel like the flare style combined with the high waist line looked flattering on me (think maternity dress).  It went back!

stitchfix2After I packaged up the return, I went online and completed my order by indicating that I would keep the blouse and return the others.  You can provide feedback on each piece (how did it fit, how was the style/ color) to your stylist so that they have a better idea of what you’d like next time!

As a bonus, there was also a little packet of coupons and recipes included in the box – the pumpkin spice muffins look tasty.
DSC01235

So what did I think? I was a HUGE fan of this service – this is such a great, easy way to try out new styles, and it was fun anticipating the box and finding out what my stylist had picked for me.  I’ve already signed up for another box in January, and I can see myself using this a couple of times a year to liven up my closet!

Have you ever tried a personal styling/shopping service?

Do you prefer shopping online or in person? I do all of my shopping online during sales and the two times a year we go to the outlet mall.  Such a time saver…I think?

4 thoughts on “My First Stitchfix Shipment!

  1. Alexa

    I’ve never heard of anything like this either and I’m thinking about trying it! The only thing is, I *hate* buying clothing online. I never know how it’s going to fit or what size I should get. Sizes/cuts between stores vary so much for women’s clothing, but even within a store! There are about three different sizes that currently fit me at Express. It’s ridiculous. The few times I bought online, if it didn’t fit, I didn’t bother returning it. But StitchFix seems like toe returns are easy, so maybe I’ll give it a try!

    1. Dawn H.

      I definitely agree, it is tough to buy clothes online. What I liked about Stitchfix was that there was a mix of brands in what they sent me, so while some stuff was small and some stuff was large, I was able to find something that fit me!

Leave a Reply

