Made and Loved #1 (Meal Round-up)

Hey guys,

I have a new feature I’ll be running on this blog occasionally – Made and Loved is a round-up of recipes I’ve tried and really liked! I’m not very creative in the kitchen, but I like to research recipes and try new ones out each week.  I read a bunch of cooking blogs and peruse cooking websites all the time, and as I come across delicious-looking meals on blogs and websites, I’ll add them to my list of things to try in a Google doc.  I’m also a big fan of pinning recipes on Pinterest – the pictures make it easy to decide what I’d like to eat.  Between my list and Pinterest boards, I always have lots of meal inspiration when I’m picking what to make for the week.  Here are the recipes we’ve been loving lately!

made and loved banner

Breakfast Recipes

Morning Glory Muffins (Cooking Light)

I love making a batch of muffins on the weekend and grabbing them for easy breakfasts during the week.  I really liked the moist texture of these muffins (from the mashed banana and yogurt) and how easily the recipe can be customized! The original recipe calls for dates, dried pineapple, and walnuts as mix-ins, but I used the raisins, coconut flakes, and chopped almonds I had on hand.  This will become my go-to muffin base recipe from now on.

068

Lunch Recipes

Polenta on Salads (KERF)

This is more of an idea I took from Kath’s post than a recipe.  She used polenta as a salad topper, and since I nearly always pack salads for lunch, I tried it out and loved it! I bought pre-made polenta from the salad aisle and pan-fried slices to add some crispy, tasty texture to my salads.  The below salad also had hard boiled egg, goat cheese, cranberries, and some sliced ham.  Yum!041

Dinner Recipes

Tuna Noodle Casserole (Skinnytaste)

I wanted to use up a bag of egg noodles and turned to Gina’s lightened up tuna noodle casserole to do the trick.  The recipe was so easy to make and delicious, and we found it to be very filling despite it being a lighter version of the traditional dish! This will become a staple in our household :)037Spaghetti Squash Noodles with Meat Ragu (Skinnytaste)

Another skinnytaste winner! We made the meat sauce with ground turkey and added some crushed red pepper for a little kick.  Mike liked the sauce so much, he ate the leftovers with scrambled eggs the next day :)  Photo credit: skinnytaste.com.Spaghetti-Squash-With-Meat-SauceWINNER: Roasted Butternut Squash Soup (Chow)

I was looking for a tasty winter soup to serve on our wine and cheese night, and this one caught my eye.  Wow, I was completely blown away by the complexity of flavor in this soup! It’s both sweet and savory with a depth of flavor from the roasted squash and addition of fresh sage.  Even my butternut squash-averse husband scraped the bottom of his bowl.  I accidentally halved the apple and used a whole onion, but we actually liked it that way (it might have been too sweet for our tastes with a whole apple).  Photo credit: Chow.com.phpThumb_generated_thumbnailWINNER: Jalapeno Cornbread Muffins (Chow)

This recipe was another total winner.  I made the muffins for a potluck and they were gone by the end of the night.  The jalapenos and pieces of corn really take it to the next level! I ended up making them again for us and increased the corn to 1 cup and the jalapenos to half a cup because we like it sweet and spicyyy.  It’s the perfect accompaniment to a hot bowl of chili!044

Also Liked

We also tried out the following recipes and liked them, but not loved them.  I think they’d be great with a few tweaks!

Chipotle Chicken Chili (Pioneer Woman) – this was a fine chili, we just didn’t find it exceptional.  Maybe needs some more spices?

Harvest Meatballs (KERF) – I made these to bulk up my salads and really liked the potential in the recipe – I’m going to try my own combinations of spices and mix-ins!

Oatmeal Dark Chocolate Pumpkin Muffins – I liked all the elements of this recipe, but found it a little too dense and not sweet enough for my taste.  If you know of any great pumpkin muffin recipes, I’m all ears!

Do you have a new favorite recipe you’ve discovered or invented lately?

4 thoughts on “Made and Loved #1 (Meal Round-up)

  1. Those all look great! Especially the soup :) I just made a holiday meal round-up of recipes I want to make over the break and I definitely will be adding some of these.

  2. Pingback: Made and Loved #2 (Meal Round-up) | sneaker∙therapy

  3. Pingback: Compex Coupon + Made and Loved #3 (Recipe Round-up) | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

