You Know You’re a Runner When…

Hey friends,

Happy Thursday! We’re almost through the week :) I can’t believe it’s less than a week till Christmas – anyone know of any good Christmas devotionals out there? I can’t wait till this week is over because I’m taking the next two weeks off!

In the meantime, we’ve gotten some fun stuff in the mail lately.  I’ve exchanged a golf ball for this Foot Rubz ball I got on Amazon for my foot exercises – I love rolling my foot on it to massage the tendons and muscles of my hard-working feet.  It’s part of my plan to avoid getting tendonitis again!foot rubz
I finished my box of Espresso Love Gus, and wanted to try something else – the Gus weren’t sitting in my stomach too well during races this year.  I decided to try Clif Shot Bloks, which are soft, chewable cubes that come in a bunch of yummy flavors! I picked the margarita flavor, which has extra sodium for electrolyte replenishment, and LOVED it! The bloks are big but easy to chew, and not too sweet.  I’ll be grabbing these for fueling on my long runs.  They’re on the pricier side – $30 for a pack of 18, but since each pack has six cubes inside, I think this will last me a long time.shot bloksI also picked up a mat cleaner; with the semi-regular use our yoga mat has been getting lately (I’ve gone to yoga six weeks in a row now!), I figured I should start cleaning it semi-regularly :) This spray smells great – scent dissipates quickly too –  and I no longer fear putting my face close to the mat! 008I braved the crowds and parking lot at the mall the other day to pick up some more Bath and Body Works foaming soaps! They have some fantastic holiday scents in stock :) I know we won’t use all these up during the holiday season, but I couldn’t resist, so I guess we’ll be smelling like Christmas all year.  I don’t think that’s a problem, do you?049I’m hoping I find some time this week for my latest project:
004We have a travel scrapbook that I started a few years ago, and we (I) update it with a few new pages for each vacation we take.  I suck at scrapbooking because my goal is to stick as many photos on one page as possible, but I find it surprisingly fun and relaxing to work on a creative project.  Hopefully I can finish scrapbooking (scrapping?) some Asia trip pictures before we leave for vacation.

I found another use for our Ninja this week – turning corn tortillas into masa harina! I couldn’t find masa harina in the store, so I just pulsed a few corn tortillas in the blender and bam! Masa harina, perfect for thickening chili :)045 007The good news this week is that my knee feels somewhat okay! I tried a slow three miles on Monday and when I gingerly got off the treadmill, I was surprised to find that my knee didn’t hurt.  I ran another five on Tuesday outside and did some intervals on the treadmill this morning.  I’ve been icing like a champ and taking aspirin to reduce any remaining inflammation (AFTER my workouts, never before).  Hopefully I can manage a long run this weekend with my running group!

Runner’s World ran a funny article earlier this year titled “You Know You’re a Runner When…” and I was inspired to come up with a list too!

You Know You’re a Runner When…

1. You own more sneakers than heels (or work shoes).

2. You check the weather more than a dozen times a day to find out what the weather will be like during your run.

3. You insist on going to bed by 9 PM on Friday night so you can wake up early for your long run on Saturday.  Voluntarily.

4. You’re proud of your ugly runner’s feet and have been known to show off your black toenails to your friends.

5. You wonder how much  closer you could move to your orthopedist’s office.

6. The first thing you do after you pick a vacation location is look up whether there are any races taking place while you’re there.

7. You’ve pulled out the “marathon, not a sprint” analogy for just about everything.  Cooking a soup? Simmer it a while – it’s a marathon, not a sprint.  Looking for a promotion at work? It’s a marathon, not a sprint.  Works every time.

8. When you go to the hair salon, you don’t care what kind of haircut you get, but you insist on it being long enough to tie into a ponytail.

9. You try to convince all your friends and family members to go running with you.  (Sorry J and T!)

10. Your banking PIN is your age/sex group’s qualifying time for Boston.

Do any of those apply to you? I’d say at least half apply to me :)

8 thoughts on “You Know You’re a Runner When…

    1. Dawn H.

      Oh, I love it. The golf ball would roll around on me and slip out from under my foot, but this new thingy does not! I got mine from Amazon.

  1. Alexa

    I don’t think I’ve rounded the corner as a runner for these to apply to me, but similar ones user to apply to me as a field hockey goalie (like #4–I used to show off my ugly bruises because I thought they made me look tough! And #8 is definitely still true!) This list definitely made me laugh! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Marathon #2 Training Plan! | sneaker∙therapy

  3. Pingback: My Year in Running (2013) | sneaker∙therapy

  4. Pingback: ITBS Treatment + Vegas | sneaker∙therapy

  5. Pingback: Marathon Packing List (Pittsburgh) | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

