Friday Finds: Beauty Edition

Happy Friday! Hope you guys are having a good week! Mine got infinitely better with some pho last night:001 002and another painless run yesterday – I’m 3 for 3! Hopefully my run tonight goes well too.  Speaking of my knee, Mike and I exchanged Christmas gifts last night and look what I got…006 011it’s a hot/ cold therapy wrap! You’d better believe I put it on right away.  This beats trying to tie an ice pack around my knee with a kitchen towel for sure, and the pack inside can be microwaved for heat or frozen for cold.  It wraps around just about any part of my body (it comes with a strap to extend its reach), although I hope I won’t have to :) It was such a perfect and thoughtful gift that I’ll get a lot of use out of! My gift to Mike was a pair of golf cufflinks:008Ordered off Etsy.  Mike got a kick out of them and said he couldn’t wait to wear them to work.

I’m starting another new feature on this blog – that makes two this week! For some reason, I’ve been blogging-ambitious this month.  You might be seeing some changes around the blog over the next few weeks.  Thank you guys as always for your wonderful comments and love – you guys make it even more worth it and I hope you enjoy the content :) Without further delay, here’s my first Friday Finds post!

Friday Finds: Beauty Edition

Friday Finds are a feature I’ll be running occasionally on this post to highlight some of the products I’ve found and really liked.  I got the idea from PB Finger’s Things I’m Loving Friday posts and found myself looking forward to her Friday Finds to see what she recommended.  So here’s what I’m loving lately:

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

I’ve started wearing nail polish more because it stops me from peeling my nails (a bad habit of mine I can’t seem to kick), but I’m very impatient and often end up smudging my nail polish because I don’t want to wait for it to dry.  I finally caved and bought a bottle of Seche Vite this week because it’s an HG (holy grail) top coat for a lot of people.  I found that within 5 minutes of using the top coat, my nails were dry and didn’t smudge, and after 10 minutes I felt comfortable doing the dishes :) Cons are the strong smell and my polish still chips after two days, but I’m pretty hard on my nails.  I use CND Stickey as a base coat and Seche Vite for my top.

seche viteWrapped in Rubies by Essie

This is a gorgeous shimmery cranberry red I found at CVS, and the formula is very easy to apply.  Perfect for the holidays!essie picL’oreal Waterproof Double Extend Mascara

I’ve tried a LOT of different mascaras because my Asian eyelashes are short and very straight – I like L’oreal’s Double Extend Mascara better than Dior Show, Shiseido Perfect Mascara, Urban Decay’s Cannonball, and the 5-6 others I’ve tried! The base coat (white side) extends your lashes, and the waterproof mascara holds a curl really well.  I don’t have problems with clumping or smudging and it comes off cleanly with waterproof makeup remover.  This is the first mascara that’s made me buy a second tube =) Available at drugstores, Target and lots of places online.mascara Mint Julip lip scrub by Lush

I walked into Lush to buy a Christmas gift for a friend, and saw their lip scrubs at the counter.  I wasn’t going to buy one until the sales lady had me smell the Mint Julip – mmmm.  It smells like mint chocolate, and the scrub has helped keep my chapped lips at bay.  You could also make your own with sugar and olive oil :) This one set me back $9.95, so I’ll only be using it in the winter when I really need it!010 053Mario Badescu Vitamin C Serum and Clinique Dramatically Different Lotion+

Speaking of dry winter skin, my skin gets super flaky and dull during the winter, so I was looking for something to pep it up and moisturize it a little this year.  I splurged on Mario Badescu’s Vitamin C Serum because I’ve seen Jen rave about it for years and it’s on the cheaper end as serums go ($45 at Nordstrom’s).  I figured I could always return it to Nordstrom’s if it didn’t work for me (that’s their policy, used or new).  Well, a few drops got rid of my dry, flaky skin overnight and over a few weeks, it also reduced acne scarring and brightened my skin a little! I’ll be buying this again for sure.

I also got a sample of Clinique’s Dramatically Different Lotion+ and was really impressed by how quickly it absorbs into the skin and makes my skin feel very moisturized and smooth.  I won’t need this one after the winter, but I’ve been layering it on the serum and my skin feels awesome in the morning.  I hated the sticky formula when I tried it five years ago but it appears they’ve redone it.   Or my memory is very faulty and my old lady skin now appreciates the product.012Have you guys tried any of these? Any other great finds (beauty or not) lately?

From Around the Web

DIY Sports Drinks (Active.com) – In case you run out of Gatorade :) I like the all-natural aspect of these!

6 Reasons Why You Should Run on a Treadmill (Active.com) – I do take my speed workouts indoors because I find it easier to push myself, and I like designing hill workouts for the treadmill.  Goes by fast!

PBF Gift Guide – Gifts that Give Back (Peanut Butter Fingers)- In case you have a few people left on your gift shopping list.

Soft Baked Peppermint White Chocolate Cookies (Eat Live Run) – These look so good!!

5 thoughts on “Friday Finds: Beauty Edition

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds #2: Workout Gear Edition | sneaker∙therapy

  2. Pingback: Winter Skin Care | sneaker∙therapy

  3. Pingback: Friday Finds #2: Workout Gear Edition

Leave a Reply

