I’m Running Again!

Hello from LA! We left DC this morning and arrived in LA around noon.  Needless to say, we lost no time in getting our FOOD on…DSC01392 DSC01393 DSC01394More to come :)

This past week has made me realize how much of a running addict I am – just one week off to rest my knee was driving me crazy! My knee is still not 100%, but it’s doing better with regular icing and my new knee support strap.  I managed to get in four great runs last week, which made me very happy and a little less crazy around the house!!
Screen shot 2013-12-23 at 6.37.58 PM

Monday: 3 miles easy on the treadmill, and power yoga class at the gym.  I started bringing my own yoga mat this week – I felt like a real yogi ;)
Tuesday: 5 super-slow easy miles outside – I was just happy my knee didn’t hurt!
Wednesday: Rest day
Thursday: 6 X 800M on the treadmill, half mile warmup and fast intervals done from 6.9 to 7.5 with 400M recovery jogs in between.
Friday: Rest day
Saturday: 8 miles with my running group!
Sunday: 30 min cycle (subbed for 3 mile run, knee hurt a little) and core work

I’ve definitely been skipping out on my weekly strength training, so my goal in January will be to get my butt back to Body Pump on Sundays.  I’ll also be more diligent about doing my core and feet strengthening routines twice a week.

I’d like to do an injury post on dealing with knee injuries, but I’m going to wait until my knee is fully healed and/or I have a better idea of how to treat it.  Any tips on dealing with runner’s knee, guys?

All I want for Christmas is a healthy knee :)

Leave a Reply

