My Year in Running (2013)

2013 was my first full year of running.  Ever.  If you’ve read my story, you know that I reluctantly started running in early 2012 to run a half marathon with my friends, and ended up falling in love in running and training for and finishing a marathon in the fall.  When 2013 rolled around, I wondered where the end of the year would find me as a runner – would I still be running? Or would it have proved to be a short-lived affair?

The Stats

Races (timed) participated in: 10 – 8 more than 2012!

– 5K: 2

– 8K: 2

– marathon: 0

– New-to-me distances: 10K (2), 10 miler (1) and half marathon (3)

New PRs: just about every distance except the marathon! That’s the fun part about being a new runner :)

Medals acquired: 5..I think?

States run in: 4 – NY, VA, DC, CA

Miles run: 819 (nearly doubled from last year – 432 in 2012!)

Personal “Bests”

Best race experience? Long Beach Half! It was a beautiful and flat course, I PR-ed, and Mike’s family came out to see me and cheer me on :)

DSC00158

Best run? The tempo runs I finally stsrted nailing in October!

Best new piece of gear? Hm…probably my RunGoo.  It doesn’t prevent blisters completely, but it helps better than anything else I’ve tried so far.  Or my spiky ball for massaging my feet.rungoo

Best piece of running advice received? Focus on one mile at a time.  I don’t know where I saw this, but it completely changed my racing strategy when I decided not to let the rest of the race psych me out!

In summary, 2013 was the year I knew that I would love running until I couldn’t run anymore.  It’s the year that made me a running addict, that made me understand why people wake up at 5 AM in freezing weather and pull on their sneakers to run.  It’s been an amazing year, and while I’m sad to be out on a knee injury right now, I can’t wait to start running again to see where 2014 takes me!

Thanks Miss Zippy for the link-up and Blonde Bostonian for the inspiration!

What has 2013 meant to you as a runner/ athlete?

5 thoughts on “My Year in Running (2013)

  1. Alexa

    Yikes!! I can’t believe you ran three halfs this year! You’re crazy and awesome all at the same time!! Seems like it’s been an amazing year! Major kudos!

  2. Pingback: The Year in Running | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

