Looking Forward to 2014!

Turn over a new leaf.  Fresh sheet.  Wiping the slate clean.  I love the feeling of a fresh start at the beginning of a new year! I like looking forward and seeing all the exciting events and possibilities that lie ahead and getting another year to learn and experience new things.  I think that a big part of happiness is anticipating and getting excited about happy events in the future, so this is what I’m anticipating in 2014!

Going Back to School

In just a few weeks, I’ll be taking a class at the local community college to complete pre-requisites for a part-time masters program at George Mason I hope to start in the fall! If you haven’t caught on by now, I’m a total nerd, and after being out of school for six years, I’m more than ready to pull out my backpack and notebooks and start reading textbooks again :) I’ll be starting with linear algebra this spring – wish me luck!!Beautiful Dance Moves

source

Learning How to Pool Run

I’ve accepted that my IT band injury is going to take some time to heal, so I’ll be visiting the orthopedist on Monday to find out how long I need to stay away from running.  In the meantime, I’m determined to continue marathon training by substituting pool running for my runs! To be honest, I’m a little less excited about this, but I’m trying to approach it with a positive attitude.  Pool running is the best possible substitute for running when injured, and it allows you to maintain much of your running fitness while getting a great workout.  I’m lucky that our gym has an indoor pool, and I’ve already ordered my Aqua Jogger belt and started looking up tips for pool running.  With any luck, I’ll be back to running soon, but I’m treating this as an opportunity to learn a new skill!

aquajogging-art-courir-eau-piscine-aquarunning_600source

Running Marathon #2

Since I was unable to run a marathon in 2013, I’m more than ready to run one this year and hopefully PR! While I love the half marathon distance, there’s just something magical about the full marathon for me –  whether its coming back happy and exhausted from an 18 mile run on Saturdays, pushing my body and mind far beyond their comfort zones during the race, or just being surprised at how strong my body is each week, I love the journey to running 26.2 miles! I’m also excited to be running Pittsburgh and other races with friends this spring training cycle!

Bible in a Year

After reading the Bible nearly every day last fall for my “David” small group, I decided I wanted to follow a reading plan this year, and I got excited about reading the entire Bible in chronological order in one year! I’ve done Bible reading plans before, but I don’t think I’ve ever read the Bible in a single year, so I can’t wait to see what new things God has to teach me through His Word.  If you’re interested in doing it with me, I’m using the chronological plan in a year on YouVersion.com – you can check off chapters as you read them, pick whatever version of the Bible you prefer, and get daily reminders on your phone and/or email.

Trip to Iceland

Last but not least, we’re planning a trip to Iceland in the fall! Iceland is at the top of my list of places I want to go, and Mike heard great things from one of his coworkers who went recently, so we decided to visit this year.  I’m beyond excited to see the aurora borealis and experience the hot springs!

Northern Lightssource

What are you looking forward to doing/ learning this year?

Any tips for pool running?

5 thoughts on “Looking Forward to 2014!

  1. Alexa

    Love the plan for 2014! Sounds great! I’m looking forward to starting my new job, running the Pittsburgh Half/Cherry Blossom 10 Miler, attending a friend’s wedding in September (first trip to San Fran!), planning our wedding (yay!), and hopefully Andrew and I getting settled in NJ! The trip to Iceland sounds awesome! That’s on my list too! You’ll have to let me know.

  2. I love studying too, but there just isn’t enough time in the day for me to study, train, work and blog! What is your masters going to be in? Have you tried any MOOCs (Massive Online Open Courses) by companies like Coursera, Udacity and EdX? My job involves creating MOOCs and my first one goes live in February (It’s called ‘Exploring our Oceans’ and is on FutureLearn, just in case you’re interested!)

    I’ve never tried pool running, but if it’s good enough for Paula Radcliffe, then at least you know it can keep you on top form: http://www.nytimes.com/2008/09/27/sports/othersports/27radcliffe.html?_r=0

    Wow – I’d love to go to Iceland! How long are you staying for? Are stopping off anywhere else in Europe on the way?

    1. Dawn H.

      Hey Tamsyn! Yea, I’m wondering how I’m going to balance everything. I figure if I’m good about waking up before work to run, that takes care of that, and hopefully with just 1 class, I’ll be able to keep up the blog for now. That’s so cool that your job involves MOOCs – I tried one out on EdX last year and was impressed by all the material on there. I didn’t know about FutureLearn, but I’ll be checking that out too! My masters will be in Operations Research, which fits in pretty closely with the work I’m doing now.

      Thanks for the article, that’s encouraging to read. We haven’t fully planned the itinerary out yet since we aren’t going till the fall, but if we have time, I’ve always wanted to visit the UK (I haven’t been anywhere in Europe yet)! Have you traveled around Europe?

  3. Pingback: Resolutions | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

