Have to Start Somewhere

I had my first outdoor run of the year yesterday afternoon! I debated on the ride home after work whether to run on the treadmill or outside, because of the weather and because of my glasses (more on that later), but eventually decided to just layer up and run outside.  I even wore my new Nike Hyperwarm top to commemorate the occasion.009I love the length, warmth and softness of this top! It’s my favorite piece of running clothing.  Anyway, I started my run and decided to sandwich a 3 mile tempo in the middle of my 5 mile run.  First mile went great, the next two, not so much.  I felt like I was running pretty hard those last two miles of the tempo, but then I’d look down at my watch and see that I wasn’t hitting my tempo pace! Splits went as follows:

Warm-up mile: 10:27

Tempo miles: 8:47, 9:12, 9:08 (8:50 is my desired tempo pace)

Cool-down mile: 10:49 

All in all, it was a humbling run.  I think it was a combination of the cold weather/ wind, four weeks of nearly no running, and my IT band injury that resulted in such a tough run.  I was initially disappointed in myself, because I was really nailing my tempo runs in the fall! But then I recognized that I’m lucky right now to be running at all.  My IT band hasn’t sidelined me completely, and I have plenty of time to train for my marathon.  I might not be at my highest fitness level right now, but everyone has to start somewhere.  And in two weeks, four weeks, eight weeks, I’ll be running faster and stronger than I am now, all because I started and finished my run today!

I think that’s a healthy attitude to approaching just about any goal.  The fact that it’s a goal means that you’re not there yet, but if you start working towards it, you’re that much closer to attaining it.  That’s going to be my mindset for my speedwork until I get back to where I was in the fall :)

After my run, I peeled off my socks and saw that I have my first blisters of the new year too.  Little less happy about that…010

And then I was rungry and ate dinner on our new place mats! They just arrived from Amazon, and I’m really happy with them.  I think the round place mats look better than our rectangular ones on our round table. 011Fact: hot chocolate makes the best recovery drink in the wintertime.  I need to stock up on these mixes this weekend.014And now I’m off to spend time with my cat rug, formerly known as Lucy.  She is in this position 80 percent of the day and I don’t know how she stands the heat.007Happy Thursday, friends!

Leave a Reply

