Resolutions

Hey friends! We are two weeks into the new year already, can you believe it? I found myself thinking a lot about resolutions over the past week – did you know that only 8% of people achieve the resolutions they make on New Year’s Day? And nearly 30% of resolutions are broken within the first two weeks of the year.  Which is sad news for me because I’ve made a whole bunch of resolutions for 2014!

2014 Resolutions

1. Read the whole Bible

2. Start my master’s program in the fall

3. Run 1000 miles

4. Get back to my spring weight last year :)

AND… 5. Get LASIK!

How I Plan to Accomplish Them

I tend to pick resolutions that I know are pretty doable and are very specific – for example, I ran over 800 miles last year so running 1000 is only a few more miles a week. My mileage in October and a few other months last year was pretty low so it should be pretty doable to just stay a little more consistent in my lower mileage months and run 1000 in 2014.

This is the graphic of how many miles I ran last year, courtesy of DailyMile :)dailymile2013

I’m also a big fan of breaking big goals down into little steps – I have a list of things to do in order to apply for my masters program – taking pre-requisites, getting recommendations, submitting the application, etc, so I’ve written all of them down and created a timeline to complete them.  It’s much easier for me to think about the little, easy tasks rather than the whole goal at once! I’m doing the same thing for reading through the Bible; I found a plan on my Bible app that tells me what to read each day and allows me to check off each chapter as I complete it.

As for losing weight, my track record for dieting is pretty terrible – I’ll start off great for about three days, but by the end of the week, I’ve decided that it isn’t worth the effort.  This time around, I’m keeping a list of the reasons why I want to accomplish the goal – i.e. I want to be able to fit into a certain pair of jeans comfortably, I want to decrease the burden on my knees while running, I want my stomach to be flatter, etc.  Remembering my reasons for starting will make it a lot harder to quit.  I also asked a friend to be my accountability partner! She’s getting weekly reports from me, and I think that just knowing that I’m reporting to her at the end of the week will help to stick to my plan longer.  Let me know if you’re interested in hearing how my diet goes, and I’ll post updates here every once in a while.

And Yes, I’m Finally Getting LASIK!

After 3-4 years of hemming and hawing about the surgery, I’ve finally decided that 2014 is THE year.  My eyesight is pretty bad (-5 in both eyes), so the surgery will be well worth the money it saves me in glasses and contacts over my lifetime, and I’m excited at the prospect of being able to see as soon as I wake up in the morning :) I knew that if I decided to put it off till the end of the year, I might decide to push it to the next year, and then the year after that…so I made my appointment for January 17.  As in, THIS FRIDAY.  I’m a little nervous to be going under the laser to be honest, but several of my coworkers have gotten this surgery and are very happy with the results, so they’ve convinced me that everything will be fine!

I’m probably getting PRK instead of standard LASIK because of my eye shape, which means I’m going to be in pain and unable to see much this weekend, but hopefully by this time next week, my eyes will have healed quite a bit and I’ll be able to see without glasses.  I’ll keep you posted on how it goes!

Have you made any New Year’s resolutions?

Any tips for keeping resolutions/ goals? What works for you?

7 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. Wow – good luck with the laser eye surgery. My older sister said that it was life-changing for her, but I’m too nervous (and poor) to get it done. I think it would be brilliant to be able to get up in the morning and just be able to see (my eyesight is -6.5, so even worse than yours). I hope that it doesn’t hurt too much and that you make a speedy recovery.

    1. Dawn H.

      Thanks Tamsyn! I’m not gonna lie, it’s a big chunk of change, but hopefully it’ll be worth it in the long run. Thanks for all the good wishes and support :)

  2. Alexa

    What great goals/resolutions! I never keep mine so I don’t bother making them, lol. But I HIGHLY recommend the accountability partner for a diet! Just feeling like you need to explain to someone why you had a cookie makes you not go for it unless you worked out first :) I’ll be resuming the accountability partner soon as I resume my diet–but now to lose weight for the wedding! Good luck with all of the resolutions!

    1. Dawn H.

      Thanks! I don’t normally make resolutions either, at least not formally. But this time, I figured the blog is another way to be accountable!

  3. Pingback: I’m Back to Blogging and Running! | sneaker∙therapy

  4. Pingback: Unfiltered Thursday + Giving Back (Lent 2014) | sneaker∙therapy

  5. Pingback: Resolutions: First Quarter Check-In | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

