Strengthening Exercises for Runners

Happy Valentine’s Day guys! I was hoping for another snow day today, but the government is open on a two hour delay.  Oh well, I think it is going to be a very quiet day at work.  Mike and I have some fun plans for the weekend – Thai X-ing on Saturday, brunch at Liberty Tavern on Sunday, and maybe a hot yoga date :)  Hope you guys have some fun plans and/or a restful weekend ahead!

Random, but this pistachio gelato has been rocking my world lately:

pistachio gelatoSalty, sweet, crunchy and creamy perfection! Despite the cold weather, I’ve been craving ice cream lately – maybe because of all the running I’ve been doing.  But to get to the point of this post, I wanted to share the strengthening exercises I’ve been doing regularly lately – my goal to stay healthy and un-injured in 2014 so I can run all year long!

Strengthening Exercises for Runners

When I first started running, I was happy to just run and figured I didn’t need anything else because I didn’t get injured that first year.  Last year though, was the year of injuries, so I decided I had to get serious about strengthening my body to become a healthy runner! So I created two routines – Routine A focuses on legs, knees and hips (knees and hips being common problems for runners) while Routine B focuses on core and feet.  After doing Routine B twice a week for four weeks, I have had no issues with a niggling plantar pain I felt earlier in January, so I know my feet are healthier for the work!

If you aren’t doing any strength exercises already, try adding Routine A on Mondays and Wednesdays and Routine B to Tuesdays and Thursdays.  You’ll feel a difference in your running, I promise!

routine AHere are the links for the exercises mentioned above:

Lateral Leg Lifts
Single Leg Bridge
Clamshells
Hip Extensions (also called Glute Kickbacks or Donkey Kicks)
Squats
Lunges (you can do any kind you like)
Sitting Knee Strengtheners
routine b

Here are the links for the exercises mentioned above:

Plank
V-up Roll-ups
Hip Raises
Bicycle Crunches
Superman
Oblique Crunches
Bird-Dog
Jumping Squats (or Squat Jumps)
Yoga Pose: Tree
Calf Raises (or High Heeled Parallels)
Yoga Pose: Eagle

Skimble (Alexa’s review of the Skimble app here) also has a bunch of great core workouts (in addition to all sorts of other workouts), and you can pick a routine within your desired time limit and the app will guide you through the exercises.  Or if you know what exercises you want to do, it is very easy to create your own workout and Skimble will let you know when to move on to the next one!

From Around the Web

14 Gym Pet Peeves from Active.com- made me laugh!

What Blogging is Really About from The Sweet Life Ericka

Jalapeno Cheddar Sweet Potato Puffs from The Lean Green Bean – these look so good!

Top 10 February Workout Songs from Mile Posts

Have a great weekend friends! See you next week! Who has Monday off?

7 thoughts on “Strengthening Exercises for Runners

    1. Dawn H.

      You’re welcome, the recipe looks amazing – I love both sweet potatoes and jalapenos so I can’t wait to try it out! Thanks for stopping by my blog :)

    1. Dawn H.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love what you wrote and it has got me thinking about what I want people to take away from my blog as well. Thanks for the challenge!

  1. Pingback: Marathon Training: Week 7 Workout Log | sneaker∙therapy

  2. Pingback: New Shoes + Six Mile Treadmill Workouts | sneaker∙therapy

  3. Pingback: Knee Injury (PFPS) and Plantar Update and Treatment | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

