Made and Loved #2 (Meal Round-up)

Whew, it was windy in DC yesterday! I took advantage of the warmer weather and got in a run after work though – glad I did!  I hope the cold weather is gone for good, although I suspect that isn’t the case…

Made and Loved

This is my second recipe round-up, which I’m calling Made and Loved because we made the recipes and loved them :P Like I said before, I’m not very creative in the kitchen so you won’t see a ton of new recipes on my site (although I’ll occasionally share a Korean food recipe that we’ve perfected), but I like to research recipes and try new ones out each week.  Here are the recipes we’ve been loving lately!

made and loved banner

Breakfast

WINNER: Spicy Pumpkin Muffins (Cooking Light)

This recipe was a total winner in our house – Mike, myself, and our temporary-resident picky eater Andrew all approved! I ended up making it three weeks in a row.  It’s a wonderfully spicy, moist and slightly sweet bread.  The original recipe is for a loaf, but I made it in muffin tins for easy divvying and baked it at 450 degrees for about 20 minutes.

022

Overnight Oats

No recipe here, but I started making overnight oats again and have been reminded how much I love this breakfast option.  My simple take: half a frozen banana, ½ cup of almond milk, ½ cup quick cooking oats, a few tablespoons of plain yogurt, a tablespoon of chia seeds/ flax  and a tablespoon of whatever peanut butter I have on hand.  I put it all in a microwaveable plastic container in the evening and microwave for about 30 seconds in the morning before eating!

001 (2)

Lunch

Corn Quinoa Chowder (Picky Eater)

I was looking for a lightened up version of my favorite corn chowder, and Picky Eater’s recipe fit the bill perfectly! It’s not high in calories, but the quinoa and potatoes made it a filling and tasty lunch.

023

Goat Cheese Quiche (loosely inspired by this recipe from Mountain Mama Cooks)

I was looking for uses for a huge goat cheese log I bought on sale at Harris Teeter, and thought that quiche might be just the thing! A quick search yielded this recipe, which I loosely followed (I used a premade crust, added leeks, left out the marsala wine and mustard, and subbed milk for half and half).  The dill and goat cheese made for a perfectly savory dish, and it tasted great all week reheated in the microwave at work!

Dinner

Lentil Soup (Barefoot Contessa)

This simple recipe has amazing depth of flavor! Definitely recommend it if you’re a fan of lentils like Mike and I are :) It’ll be making an appearance in our soup pot pretty frequently.

013

WINNER: Turkey Meatloaf with Mushrooms (Inspired Taste)

We really love turkey meatloaf in our house, and I end up using a different recipe every time because I never remember which recipe I used.  But when I tried this recipe a few weeks ago, I knew it was a keeper because Mike pronounced it the best turkey meatloaf he’s ever eaten! I think the half pound of mushrooms mixed into the loaf is what sets it apart.

006

Cheesy Baked Pumpkin Pasta (Skinnytaste)

I was on a pumpkin kick over the last couple of weeks – pumpkin for breakfast and dinner! I was a little nervous about the combination of cheese and pumpkin, but it was really tasty! When I told Mike what was in it, he gave me a skeptical look, but he liked it immediately.  I used egg noodles instead of penne because that’s what we had in the pantry.  I would definitely make this again.

003 (2)

Spaghetti Squash Primavera (Skinnytaste)

This was another spaghetti squash winner in our household, and a great way to get a bunch of veggies in our diet!  I used a jarred marinara sauce to cut down on the prep, and added some ground beef to the sauce to amp up the protein/ calories.

I forgot to take a pic of the final product, but here’s the marinara sauce I used (very good) and what a roasted spaghetti squash looks like…

004 (2) 006 (2)

Also Liked

Mango Mandarin Spicy Smoothie (Oh My Veggies)

I go on smoothie kicks every once in a while whenever I see a unique recipe.  I liked the idea of a spicy smoothie, but didn’t love the addition of citrus – that’s just me! Give it a try if you’re interested in a spicy smoothie variation :)

In case you missed it, here’s the first meal round-up I did in December: Made and Loved #1

3 thoughts on “Made and Loved #2 (Meal Round-up)

  1. Pingback: Compex Coupon + Made and Loved #3 (Recipe Round-up) | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

