Unfiltered Thursday + Korean Food Blogs!

Unfiltered Thursday

I’m starting to look forward to these Unfiltered Thursdays, where I ramble about the random thoughts in my head and what’s been going this week :)

1. Someone at work is recruiting to fill her spot on a team for Ragnar Utah and I am SO TEMPTED to sign up! I would love to do a Ragnar someday…but I don’t think I have time to train this summer since I’ll be taking two classes and that wouldn’t be fair to the team.  Maybe next year…any other bloggers/runners thinking about doing a Ragnar or other relay race?

ragnar-carsource

2. I’ve been snacking like crazy at work lately! I can’t seem to just the food I pack…today I supplemented my lunch with a turnover, half a bag of wasabi peas, and a cinnamon toast rice cake.  I guess my body needs more calories to support my marathon training than I thought!

3. I really want to watch Frozen this weekend! Sister J and everyone else who’s seen it has LOVED it.  Does anyone know if it’s available for rent online anywhere? I might just end up buying the movie at this point to watch it.  And yes, I’m a grown adult that loves animated movies – I know I’m not alone =P

frozen1source

4. I am really impressed with J. Crew’s customer service! I called to complain that the buttons on the peacoat I bought last fall keep falling off – button #4 fell off this week.  Luckily I’ve noticed each time and been able to recover the button, but I wasn’t happy about how much I’ve spent at the tailor to sew these buttons back on (the fabric is much too thick for me to do myself).  When I told customer service, they credited me back all the money I spent at the tailor onto my card and apologized for my trouble! I don’t buy stuff from here very often because they’re on the pricier side for me, but now I know it’s a quality company.

002

5. I was hoping the warmer weather was here to stay, but the forecast says it might snow again on Monday :( Hopefully that’s really the last of it…

6. My body and legs are feeling pretty tired this week, so I’m not overly hopeful that I’ll break 2:00 at my half this weekend, but I’m still excited to run my first Rock ‘n’ Roll – I’ve heard such great things! Anyone else running RnR USA and want to meet up?

Korean Chili Recipe

I’m also excited to be able to share the Korean chili recipe our roommate came up with! Andrew make chili all the time, and he also loves Korean bbq sauce, so he wondered one day whether he could combine the two to make “Korean Chili”.  It was a huge hit, and he’s refined and perfected the recipe after making it several times! Mike and I both loved it – Korean approved :) Andrew gave me permission to share this recipe with the world, so here it is!

BTW, I don’t have a pic to post with the recipe, I forgot to take one until it was nearly gone and the one I have isn’t very appetizing! We’ll make it again soon and I’ll update this post with a picture.

Ingredients:
– 3 lb ground beef
– 3 onions, diced
– 3- 15 oz cans of black beans, rinsed
– 1 1/4 c reduced sodium soy sauce
– 3/4 c dark brown sugar
– 2 heads of garlic, peeled and diced
– 1 T sesame oil
– 1 T rice wine vinegar
– black pepper
– 1 c water

Directions:
1. Brown the ground beef in a wok or large pot and drain the fat.
2. Add the onions, black beans, and the rest of the ingredients and bring it to a simmer on medium-low heat.
3. Allow the stew to simmer until the sauce thickens, about an hour to an hour and a half, stirring every 15-20 minutes to prevent burning.
4. Serve over fluffy white rice with kimchi on the side!

Note: this recipe makes a lot – we put half the batch in the fridge and froze the other half for easy weeknight meals.  You could also reduce the recipe in half, which would probably make enough to feed 6.

Favorite Korean Cooking Blogs

I’m definitely not a food blogger, but there are lots of great Korean cooking blogs if you enjoy Korean or Asian food.  I look up recipes all the time because while my mom taught me to cook a few basic things, there are a lot of dishes that I never bothered to learn in her kitchen.  Here are some of my favorites:

Aeri’s Kitchen – her recipes are simple and easy to follow – love!

Maangchi is one of the biggest/ most popular Korean cooking blogs – she has videos on her blog and Youtube channel demonstrating how to cook each dish.

Korean Bapsang has a great collection of recipes supplemented by beautiful drool-worthy pictures! And it’s the blog of my friend’s aunt, so check it out :)

If you’re looking for a place to start, I suggest this Korean fried chicken from Maangchi – how good does that look?? Photo credit: Maangchi

kangjung-716906

Have you ever tried (eating or cooking) Korean food?

What’s the best or worst customer service experience you’ve had?

2 thoughts on “Unfiltered Thursday + Korean Food Blogs!

  1. I’ve read a few blog posts about people doing Ragnar relays and they sound like so much fun. In summer I’m doing Adidas Thunder Run, which is a vaguely similar concept in that it is a 24 hour relay, but it’s on a 10k trail route, with a campsite by the start/finish. People can do it solo, in teams of 3-5 or 6-8. I’m doing it in a team of 7 with my husband. We’re not looking to get a winning distance within the 24 hours, we just wnat to have a fun weekend camping with our running friends!

    I love your red jacket – it looks so smart :-)

    I’ve never tried Korean food – I don’t think there are any Korean restaurants in my local area… but one of my former students has just come back from living in South Korea for 3 years and she has now got a job working with me, so maybe she’ll be able to help me make some Korean food!

    1. Dawn H.

      Oh wow, 24 hr relay! That sounds like fun – I’m guessing you can sleep at the campsite when you’re not running? That’s great that both you and your husband are runners…I’m still trying to convince Mike ;)

      There are lots of easy Korean dishes like rice and marinated meat, which doesn’t need much more than the basics like soy sauce, sugar, sesame oil, and garlic. Let me know if you end up trying Korean food!

Leave a Reply

