A Laid-Back Weekend + Lots of Asian Food

Happy Monday! Hope you had a great weekend – mine was really relaxing because I ended up skipping/ reducing a ton of workouts because I felt really tired (maybe I have a little cold).

Friday Night

I felt exhausted when I came home from work and ended up skipping my planned visit to the gym and a volunteer thing at the church =\ I hate not honoring my commitments, so I think I need to find volunteer opportunities earlier in the week when I’m not so tired! I’m blaming my tired/sick state on a combo of the crazy weather and long days at the office (to make up for the snow days this month).
Doesn’t this make you feel like Christmas is just around the corner? But oh wait, it’s MARCH.003 005I felt like I needed some good broth to feel better, so we went to Pho Golden Cow in Falls Church for some Vietnamese spring rolls and pho.  The soup really hit the spot, even though I forgot to ask for no cilantro :) 001 002

Saturday

My plan for Saturday was to do a double cycle class at the gym, but I discovered that my butt was SORE from cycling a few days ago and I couldn’t sit on the seat! I went to Body Combat instead, but ended up leaving after 30 min because all the kicking and sideways motions were not agreeing with my knee.  Lame. I went back to the gym later and got on the elliptical for 45 min, but this day was a lot more low-key than planned.

Not having 3 hours of my day devoted to a long run left me time and energy to do a deep clean of the apartment with Mike! We vacuumed, dusted and mopped every little part of the space and found enough cat hair to make a large blanket.  I don’t usually do so much cleaning on one day because I’ve been using a chore chart lately so that I can clean a little on the days I have time instead of leaving all the cleaning till the weekend.  I got the idea from Gina and it’s made cleaning a lot more manageable! This weekend was nice though because everything was clean all at once :)

006
Someone wasn’t too happy with all the cleaning activity and chose to hide out in her cave till it was over.
010Speaking of cats…we finally got a doormat to deal with all the snow/ ice/ salt that we were tracking into the house and thanks to Amazon Prime’s speedy shipping, it arrived just in time for last week’s snowstorm! Appropriate, I think.
doormat
After a day of cleaning and other chores, I was craving some Korean BBQ so we went to Honey Pig for dinner. This is a recycled pic from our last visit because I was a lazy blogger and forgot my camera :)

honeypigAnd then we finally watched Frozen!! It was soo good, and the songs were stuck in my head all weekend –  “For the first time in forever…”  Does anyone else think this will be made into a musical by next year? I can see that we’ll be buying this movie for our kids someday :)

frozen1

Sunday

We chose to skip Body Pump on Sunday and sleep in instead ;) A very good decision, especially since that class has been packed lately. We made it to the early service at church, and then went for some dim sum at Mark’s Duck House – we hit up Vietnamese, Korean, and Chinese food this weekend! Another recycled pic, but we always get the same stuff here – shumai and shrimp dumplings ( pictured below), fried turnip cake, rice noodles with shrimp, and pork buns.  Yup, not a single veggie.

mark's duck house

When we got back, I got some cooking done while Mike worked.

First I whipped up a batch of Lemon Laraballs (using this recipe here) for snacks and post-workout munchies.

013Next up were Broccoli, Potato & Cheese Egg Cups from Cupcakes and Kale Chips – a new-to-me food blog I found last week! I used some goat gouda I found on sale at Harris Teeter for the cheese and they came out great – easy breakfasts for the week.015 016 014I also made some very special brownies.  Guess what the secret ingredient is?017Black beans! I was so intrigued when I saw this on Finding Time for Cooking, so I tried the original recipe from Skinnytaste.  Mike couldn’t guess the secret ingredient at all, and we were both really impressed with the flavor and light, cakey texture! 

I’ll also be making some quiches for dinners this week, and lunches will be salads and leftovers I’ve frozen from various meals over the past month.

Sunday also marked a full week from my foot injury from last Saturday’s race, which is the timeframe my doc told me stay away from running.  So I eagerly laced up my sneaks around 2, and felt so great despite the wind/ cold/ rain that I ended up doing 8 miles :) I even managed to maintain race pace for the whole run, probably because my legs were so fresh from a week of no running.  My foot felt fine during and after the run, but I’ll probably cross train today or take it off completely to be on the safe side.  And if my foot’s okay, I’ll run Tues/ Weds and Fri/Sat, with a long run on Sat.  I’m SO grateful that I don’t have a stress fracture!

Weirdest/most unconventional ingredient you’ve used while baking?

If you live somewhere warm, can I move in with you for a week? =P kidding…

9 thoughts on “A Laid-Back Weekend + Lots of Asian Food

  1. I think we always want what we haven’t got! I’ve just come back from a business trip to Cyprus, which was gloriously sunny and warm. I loved being able to eat my breakfast outside and not have to wear a cardigan… but I also love snow and am slightly jealous of your weather. We just don’t have extremes here in the UK – it’s mostly windy and wet!

    It sounds like you needed a break from all of the training that you’ve been doing.

    Your broccoli, potato and egg cups look really delicious. I’m hoping that I’ll find some time to try that recipe, although I guess it will probably need to wait until after my marathon. Have you ever made chocolate avocado dessert? I’ve told a few friends about it and they all think it’s amazing, but I just never seem to have avocados in when I’ve got the time to make it.

    1. Dawn H.

      oh WOW that sounds amazing! yes, we definitely do want what we don’t have, and I’m guessing that if Mike and I ever move to California, I’ll miss the seasons on the east coast. I think my body needed the break more than I realized – I forgot how exhausting marathon training can be!
      The egg cups are really good, just like mini frittatas. I’ve never made chocolate avocado, although I’ve seen a few posts on it…maybe I’ll give it a try this weekend! avocados seem to be in season right now b/c they’re on sale at the supermarket.

  2. You should get a gel seat for the spin class. It helps. I teach 3 times a week and since getting that seat I have never felt better.

    PHO is the perfect cure!! YUM YUM!! Have a great weekend!

    1. Dawn H.

      Good tip, thanks! My butt got used to it when I went a few times a week, but after not going for a couple of months, I was suffering this past week, lol. I still can’t believe you work, teach spin, AND train for races! I’d love to see a “day in the life of chelsea” post…

    1. Dawn H.

      Woohoo!! Hawaii is one of my favorite places on earth. Mike and I visited Hilo and Kona a few years ago and fell in love – I’m hoping we go back again soon. Are there a lot of races that take place in Hawaii?

  3. we have our share of races, and more and more are popping up. most popular here are the great aloha run (8.15mi) and the honolulu marathon. there’s also a “marathon readiness” series of 5 runs to help you get your big mileage runs in leading up to the marathon (15k/20k/25k/30k/half).

    1. Dawn H.

      Ooo I’ve heard of the honolulu marathon, I think that’s on my bucket list. 8.15 miles? i haven’t heard of that distance race before…

Leave a Reply

