Resolutions: First Quarter Check-In

Happy Friday friends!

I skipped hot yoga again last night…I just can’t seem to find the motivation to work out after work these days.  Good thing I like running in the morning again! I thought it would be fun to do a check-in with my 2014 resolutions today, and it seemed appropriate since the first quarter of the year is already over! So here we go:

2014 Resolutions: 1st Quarter Check-In

1. Read the whole Bible in a year – behind track
Yikes, I am really behind on the Bible reading program I’m using (like 2 weeks behind!). Fun book reading has taken of daily Bible reading the last couple of weeks, so this check-in is just what I need to fix that.

2. Start my master’s program at GMU in the fall – on track
I’m currently taking one of the pre-requisites (Linear Algebra) at my local community college and will take a few more pre-reqs (computer programming, statistics, and differential equations) over the summer and into the fall, which will prepare me to take my first class in the fall! I’ll be in it for the long haul – the program is going to take me 3 years (attending part-time) to finish, but I know it’ll be worth it.

3. Run 1000 miles by the end of the year –on track
I’ve run 346 miles since January 1st, which well exceeds the 250 I should have run by now, but that’s because I’m currently training for Pittsburgh :) I know this number will drop during the summertime when I’m not training for a race anymore, but I still think I’ll be able to reach my goal running 15-20 miles a week.

4. Get back to my 2013 spring weight –??
Meh, I have no idea. I’ve definitely lost a few pounds since January, but I haven’t been tracking my calories that carefully, although I have been using MyFitnessPal as a food journal to track my snacking habits. I’m not that concerned about my weight because I’m pretty happy with my body, no matter the number of the scale.  I also know that if I focus on eating high quality food and reducing snacking, my running will take care of the rest! So let me just stash away this bag of Oreos…

5. Get eye surgery – complete!

I also added another goal at the start of Lent of serving/ volunteering more, which I’ve been meeting through my time at the Carpenter’s Shelter! I think this has been the most important goal for me this year; it’s teaching me to re-prioritize and think about how I REALLY want to spend my time. I’m adding this to my list of goals for the rest of the year!

Overall, I think I’m tracking right along! I’ll be back with my next check-in around June.  Thanks for letting me be accountable to you guys :)

From Around the Web

If You Run Slow, Who Cares? – I saw this on Christine’s blog a few weeks ago and loved it

Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods Decision Tree from The Washington Post – funny!

Discomfort vs. Pain: The Runner’s Dilemma from Run to the Finish

6 Essential Truths I Learned from Winter Exercise Hibernation from Sweet Life Ericka – great perspective

http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2014/04/03/paleo-bibimbap/

Leave a Reply

