Marathon Taper

So…to be honest, I think I’ve kind of over-done the taper. As in I went from 5 runs a week to 3. Or 2. Life got busy, and since I knew I was tapering, getting my runs done fell to the bottom of my to-do list. I did get my long runs done each week, but not many workouts beyond that. I’m hoping my running fitness hasn’t suffered too much *fingers crossed* I guess on the plus side, I know I’ll be well-rested for Sunday’s race (can’t believe it’s in less than a week!!).

Pittsburgh Marathon: Taper Week 1

pittsburgh wk16
Monday: Subbed 50 minutes of cycling for my run; my knee felt a little wonky after my weekend 20 miler

Tuesday: Barre date with Christina at Biker Barre!
This was my first time visiting this studio in Eastern Market; they offer both barre and cycling classes. We went to an open barre class taught by Kelly and I really enjoyed it – it was a fun, core and leg centric workout that went by fast! I’ll post a more in-depth review after we take our second class this week :)
007 004
Wednesday: rest day

Thursday: 5 easy miles on the treadmill (10:48 pace) and hot yoga at MYBO with Mike
008
Friday: rest day

Saturday: rest day

Sunday: 12 miles solo on the W&OD trail (9:36 pace)
I finally got my act together and went out the door for a run on Sunday night, intending to do about six miles or so. But my legs felt great, the weather was perfect and I ended up going 6 miles out before turning around! Strong pace for a solo run.

Pittsburgh Marathon: Taper Week 2

Screen Shot 2014-04-28 at 8.09.37 PM

Monday: rest day

Tuesday: 4 miles on T/M (10:04 pace) followed by a strength/ core session
I don’t remember if I mentioned this before, but I’ve been working on my planks during my strength workouts.  I started out with a 1 minute plank, and tried to add 10-15 seconds to that each week (I got inspired by the Fitnessista’s Plank Challenge).  Well, I’m up to 2 minutes and 15 seconds!

Wednesday: rest day

Thursday: rest day

Friday: 5 mile pace run on T/M (9:14 pace) – my last “speed” workout

Saturday: 4 hours of painting for National Rebuilding Day (must count for something, right?)

Sunday: 8 slow, agonizing miles outside (9:56 pace)
Okay, my pace wasn’t actually that terrible, but this wasn’t exactly a confidence building run.  I felt slow and tired and just wanted to quit the whole time.  Strange, considering how awesome the 12 miler the previous week went, but not all runs are rainbows and sunshine and puppies, you know? But last weekend run –  done.

My plan this week is to do all my runs on the plan – they’re all super short (3-4 miles) so it shouldn’t be hard. I’m not doing any strength training or extra exercise that could make me sore (with the exception of barre on Tuesday at Biker Barre again – but hopefully that’s early enough in the week that I’ll be fine by Sunday).

Have you tried a barre class? What did you think?

Do you think I’ll be okay for my race, even though I didn’t get all my runs during the taper done?

5 thoughts on “Marathon Taper

  1. Of course you’ll be fine… each marathon is a little bit easier than the last one! I missed a lot of runs for my whole training schedule, including quite a few of the long runs, as I’ve been really ill this year, so I didn’t put too much pressure on myself on race day and finished within 10 minutes of my PB. A positive mental attitude and no pressure on yourself will help a great deal :-)

    1. Dawn H.

      Thanks Tamsyn! I really hope that’s true that this marathon will be easier than the first one, lol. I like the tip about the positive attitude, so I’m going to think positively from now on :)

  2. Pingback: Marathon #2 Training Plan! | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

